Water Colored Tulips Card, Chit Chat and More

Tulips

Hello Stamping Friends!

Tis the season to make all things spring, which of course includes lots of beautifully colored flowers.  I posted this photo of my tulip card when I first started my blog, but today I want to tell you how I made it.  I enjoyed writing inside this card yesterday to a very good friend to thank her for inviting me to a Christian Ladies Retreat she was hosting nearby my home.  I joined the ladies on Saturday but I didn’t spend the night.  We had delicious eats and exciting fellowship.  They had been doing adult coloring (linked below), using colored pencils (I love Prismacolor pencils linked below) , so I shared with them a YouTube site where I found a great tutorial on how to use colored pencils.  I will link it below (if I can!  Ha!  This is all new to me).  At the retreat we had a gathering time where those who wanted, shared their testimonies or something the Lord laid on their hearts to tell the others.  Yesterday, I started to text my friend to thank her for such a nice day and I thought, “Why don’t I mail her a card?”  Everyone loves to get a personal note in the mail that is not a bill or an advertisement.  I know she is going to comment about it when I see her at Bible study tomorrow night.

You can lift someone’s spirit and show encouragement that someone cares by sending them a card.  When I scrapbook an album, few people see the hours of work I have put into this piece of art.  But when I make a card, I am sharing what I love to do with those who will never see my photo albums.  Give it a try.  Creating art is therapeutic.  I can do artwork when I don’t physically or mentally feel like doing anything else.  Take some time for yourself and then share it with others.

Happy crafting,

Tricia

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Water Colored Tulips

Card base is 110# Neenah Solar White cardstock cut to 8½” X 5½”, folded in half to make a 5½” X 4¼” card.

Front panel is water color cardstock die cut to 4½” X 3¼” with Lawn Fawn Rectangle Stitched Frame.

The image is Hero Arts wood mounted rubber stamp, Newspaper Tulips and is heat embossed onto the water color paper with Hero Arts white embossing powder.

The Tim Holtz distress ink pad colors were laid down individually on a craft mat and sprayed with water.  The plant colors brushed on were Picked Raspberry, Barn Door, Squeezed Lemonade, Mowed Lawn, Shabby Shutters and Peeled Paint.  The background was water colored with Tumbled Glass.  The plant was masked off with Inkadinkado Stamping Mask Paper, so the background could be sprinkled with water droplets.

After allowing the front panel to dry, it was adhered to the card base with E-Z Runner Scrapbook Adhesive.

The sentiment was stamped using Archival Jet Black ink and Just a Note from Hero Arts CL342 stamps.

Doodlebug Beetle Black Glitter Sprinkles were adhered to the top right and a 1/8” black ribbon from Michael’s was glued down with Ranger Multi Medium Matte.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LINKS

  • “Be Still” Inspirational Adult Coloring Therapy Featuring Psalms

http://www.amazon.com/Still%2522-Inspirational-Coloring-Therapy-Featuring/dp/1432114891/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1459895801&sr=8-1&keywords=be+still+and+know+that+i+am+god+coloring+book

  • Prismacolor Pencils

http://www.amazon.com/Prismacolor-Premier-Colored-Woodcase-Assorted/dp/B00006IEET/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1459895530&sr=8-1&keywords=12+prismacolor+pencils

  • 12 Blending Tips for Colored Pencils by CherTheFire
Leave a Reply

