Jumbo Peony Card

16079489334_0ec11c411e_m

CHALLENGE ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Emboss http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/ 

Hello Everybody!

I am excited to share this jumbo peony with you today.  I got my inspiration for making this card from Amy Sheffer at Stampers Dream.  The sentiment could be changed to give a card like this to someone for almost any occasion.

After I cut a piece of white cardstock to 10X7 inches, it was folded to open on the side, making a 5X7 inch card.  I then cut out a 5X7 inch panel of white cardstock to be embossed and adhered to the front of the card.  I used an edge punch to make a looped edge and then set the panel aside until later.  I used a VersaMark Embossing Ink pad to stamp the jumbo peony on white cardstock.  This was sprinkled with black embossing powder and melted with a heat gun.  The peony was colored with Tombow Dual Brush Pens.  A scalloped medallion was punched out of dark mint cardstock.  To get a circle I used a punch on white cardstock.  The sentiment from another stamp set was inked with Versa Mark and black embossing powder was sprinkled on it, then melted with a heat gun.  A piece of white lace was taken from my stash and daubed with Evergreen ink. I let this set for a while to dry.  When the lace was dry, a line of tape runner was placed down the left side of the card and the lace was adhered.  I made sure to leave lace hanging over on the top and bottom of the panel so it could be folded under the front panel and taped to the back.  The front panel was then adhered to the card base.  Everything else was adhered with a tape runner as well.  Sequins and enamel dots were glued on to finish.

I wish you would give a big blossom such as this a try.  While there were several steps to take, the making was pretty cut and dry.  If you want to know anything specific about something that I left out, just leave me a comment and I will do my best to give you the information.  Also, please leave a comment to tell me what you think.  If you like this post, there is a LIKE bottom at the bottom of the posting. 

Thanks for reading,

Tricia Ann

SUPPLIES

65# Recollections White Cardstock purchased locally from Michael’s Arts and Crafts store

65# Recollections Multi-colored Cardstock purchased locally from Michael’s Arts and Crafts store

Sizzix Embossing Folder – I bought this folder before I knew better than to throw away the packaging, so I don’t know the name of it.  It is not written on the folder.

Fiskars Edge Punch – Again I’ve had this for a long time and do not know the name of the specific punch, sorry.

8″ white lace – from my sewing stash

Tim Holtz Distress Evergreen Ink Pad purchased locally from Michael’s Arts and Crafts store

Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape – purchased from Amazon.com

Stampendous Jumbo Peony borrowed from a friend

Tombow Dual Brush Pens purchased from Amazon.com

Stampin’ Up! Scalloped Circle Punch -purchased at a Stampin’ Up! party

Martha Stewart Circle Punch purchased locally from Michael’s Arts and Crafts store

Happy Birthday Sentiment used from another stamp set; here you could put Mom, Friend, Hello, etc., or use a larger circle or oval and the sentiment Deepest Sympathy, Thank You, and so on

black enamel dots from my stash

clear 5mm sequins from my stash

 

One thought on “Jumbo Peony Card

Leave a Reply

