Felt Poinsettia Gift Tag

Christmas in May?  I don’t think so, but it IS good to get an early start, as the months will fly by.  Simon Says Stamp Monday and Wednesday Challenges this week are both asking for felt creations.  I have a lot of card making and blog catching up to do, so I thought I would skip it.  However, I like winning that $50 gift card from Simon Says Stamp, so I started the felt challenge.  And I’m so glad I did!  This was fun!  I decided to make a poinsettia out of felt and I concluded that it should be a Christmas gift tag.  This is my first try at making a card using felt.  I am glad Simon had this challenge to give me a reason to try something new.  I really enjoyed working with the felt.  It reminded me of the days in my twenties when the ladies of our church made handmade items for bazaars and fairs to sell as fundraisers.  What do you think? 

Felt Poinsettia Gift Tag

CHALLENGE ENTERED

http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/  

http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/  

1.  Die cut red felt for flower layers; cut the small flower two times, so you end up with 3 layers.  Die cut green felt for leaves.  Die cut white felt for stamen.  Do the same using heavy cardstock.   Glue matching felt and cardstock pieces together with liquid glue.  Set aside to dry.  I don’t have the new felt from Simon Says Stamp that is imported from Italy which is thick and supposed to cut like butter.  I have felt from Michael’s Arts and Crafts store that I bought for Kassidy to play with years ago.  This felt cut very nicely with a Cuttlebug Die Cut Machine.  I did have trouble with the white felt that I cut for the stamen in the center of the flower.  It was thinner fabric with less body.  I cut the white felt several times and decided that the white felt must have cardstock behind it for support, because the filament wouldn’t stay attached all the way around.  With this, I decided to cut all the pieces in heavy cardstock as well.  This would help me give shape to the petals and leaves.  I glued the felt to the cardstock pieces with tacky glue and laid acrylic blocks on top of them to seal them together properly.  While I gave these a chance to dry, I prepared my card base. 

2  Measure, cut and fold cardstock.  Use embossing folder to put texture on one half of the tag.  Swipe gold ink over the raised portion of tag front.  Cut and glue a dull gold strip of paper by the fold line.   After cutting a 8 1/2″ X 3 1/8″ piece of heavy white cardstock, I folded it in half and rounded the corners with a corner rounder punch.  Then I dry embossed one half of the card that would be used as the front of the tag.  With a finger sponge dauber and an ink pad,  I lightly spread gold ink over the embossing, trying to keep the ink on the raised area.  At the fold end of the tag, I adhered a thin dull gold strip with dotted runner tape. 

3  Assemble the flower.  Color the flower center with markers.  Use a stylus and foam pad to shape the center.  Lightly spritz underside of petals and leaves with water.  Roll the stylus over the cardstock, pushing it in.   Glue the parts together.  Glue the flower to the tag.  First I colored the stamen, the center of the flower, with distress markers.  I used a stylus and the thick piece of flat foam that came with it to press inside the center and made the stamen pop up.  I also pressed the cardstock on the underpart of the petals and leaves with the stylus to give them a concaved look.  To make the cardstock pliable, I ever so lightly spritzed the cardstock with water before pressing in on it with the stylus.  This gave the petals and leaves dimension.  The pieces were then glued together, using Zots adhesive dots in the center of the flowers as well as the inside ends of the leaves underneath the flower petals.  Zots were used again to attach the flower to the card, reinforcing areas with spots of glue. 

4  Punch a hole and thread a ribbon through it.  A hole was punched in the top left corner of the tag.  I pulled a dull gold ribbon from my bag of recycled ribbons, cut it to 7″, and thread it through the hole.

This tag may not look simple to you and I agree that it was not as simply made as the card I posted on Simple Sunday last week.  It’s hard for me to do simple.  However, compared to all the gorgeous, complex creations I have seen on blogs and on You Tube, this one is pretty simple when following the steps.  Do give it try and get started early on your Christmas creations.

Thanks for stopping by.  Be sure to LIKE this page, and I would LOVE to have a happy comment from you. 

Sincerely,

Tricia Ann

SUPPLIES

My Favorite Things Die-namics Poinsettia – http://www.mftstamps.com/die-namics/flowers-leaves/die-namics-poinsettia

felt – locally from Michael’s Arts and Crafts Store

110# Neenah White Cardstock

Tim Holtz Distress Markers – Squeezed Lemonade, Twisted Citron, Candied Apple

Sizzix Embossing Folder – I don’t know the name of it since I threw away the package before I knew better to keep it.

Archival Brilliance Galaxy Gold Ink Pad – Ebay

dull gold cardstock – a scrap from my paper scraps – locally from Michael’s Arts and Crafts Store  

dull gold ribbon – recycled ribbon

Zots Adhesive Clear Dots – locally from Michael’s Arts and Crafts Store

Liquitex Matte Medium – locally from Jo Ann’s Fabrics and Crafts Store    

 

BONUS

This has nothing to do with Simple Sunday.  I just want to show you another card I made using the poinsettia die set.  All I did was round off the tips of each petal.  This one is all cardstock, no felt.

7th Spiritual Birthday 2015.jpg

2 thoughts on “Felt Poinsettia Gift Tag

  1. onecraftystamper says:

    Oh, the deep reds and greens are just lovely on this! Thanks so much for joining our felt challenge on Simon Says Stamp Monday challenge! Maura

    Like

Leave a Reply

