See Through Shaker Masked Stripes

 

 small  small 2 small 3 small 4

small 5  small 6

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Make a Wish http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Anything Goes  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/  

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Weeks #232-233  Anything Goes http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Hello All,

I’ve posted the card picture multiple times so you can see the shine the Spectrum noir Sparkle Glitter Brush Pen Clear Overlay puts on the card surface.  I also want you to notice that the shaker window is see through.  I am happy the way this card turned out. 

My card was inspired by two of Jennifer McGuire’s cards .  I learned how to do the masked stripes from Jennifer’s May 26, 2016 tutorial.  I was inspired to do a see-through shaker card by watching one of Jennifer’s tutorials on YouTube.  Also, I learned a better way to make a shaker card when watching another tutorial on YouTube by Stephanie Davis.  I’ll put the links below.  If you take a look at the three videos listed below, you will have the instructions for making my card.  I’ll just give you a list of my supplies.

I think it is so cool the way one can see through the shaker window.  I’ve also included what my card looks like on the inside.  If you watch Jennifer’s heart video, you will see how the inside of my card is different from hers.

Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog.  If you like what you see, let me know.  Push that LIKE button!  If you have a question or a comment, let me know.  I’m anxious to hear from you.

Until later,

Tricia Ann

SUPPLIES

110# Neenah Solar White Cardstock cut to 10 x 7 inches and folded in half to make a 5 x 7 inch card

Inkadinkadoo Stamping Mask Paper – This 5 x 7 inch self-adhesive paper worked well for this procedure.

Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads (these are dye inks) – Picked Raspberry, Candied Apple, Ripe Persimmon, Mustard Seed (Tim must have been hungry when he formulated these colors!), Mowed Lawn, Peacock Feathers, Salty Ocean, Chipped Sapphire, Stormy Skies, Hickory Smoke

Imprintz White Pigment Ink Pad – I used an old ink pad so I wouldn’t contaminate my good white pigment ink pad if the distress ink came off on the sponge dauber.  It didn’t, by the way.  See Jennifer’s video on Masked Stripes to know how to apply the white stripes on top of the colors.  You can use any white pigment ink you have, since pure whiteness will not come out on the dark colored stripes. 

Cherub Hearts Craft Dies (5 dies in the set) by Memory Box, Inc.  I used the next to the largest heart. 

Paint the entire card front with Liquitex Matte Gel Medium.  This glue works like Ranger Multi Medium Matte but doesn’t cost as much.  It was purchased locally from the art department in Jo-Ann’s Fabric and Craft Store.  Let this dry.

 Next, paint the entire card front with Spectrum noir Sparkle glitter Brush Pen Clear Overlay.  This adds such a subtle shimmer and gives the card the >punch< it needs.  You don’t want to skip this step.

Here’s the new trick I learned from Stephanie Davis:  I have Pocket Page Protectors available for such things as baseball trading cards.  I use them to make Pocket Pal Letters.  I cut one card section out of the whole sleeve.  You can use any envelope type similar to this.  I used Duck Clear Postage Packing Tape to close the end of the plastic envelope and also to adhere it to the card.

Sequins – Darice 5mm multicolored; Simon Says Stamp Assorted Moonshine; Hot Pink Dyed Seed Beads purchased online from Jo-Ann’s Fabric and Craft Store, http://www.joann.com/11-0-hot-pink-dyed-seed-beads–20-grams/9721838.html

Happy Birthday Dies by Our Daily Bread Designs cut on 110# Neenah Solar White Cardstock and adhered with Liquitex Matte Gel Medium.

Inside the card, a 4.25 x 7 inch Simon Says Stamp 100# Sunshine Cardstock was adhered with Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape.  

 

LINKS

masked stripes – http://www.jennifermcguireink.com/2016/05/stripes.html

window shaker card – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B-vbXknSAJA

Easiest Shaker Card~EVER (No Fuse Tool Required) – Stephanie Davis – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gfx4rYapPHQ&feature=youtu.be

 

 

One thought on “See Through Shaker Masked Stripes

  1. quilterlin says:

    Beautiful results – the stripes make a gorgeous rainbow! And your shaker circle takes everything over the top! Thanks for joining us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

