To My Dad

Hello Folks,

I made this card for my dad who carries a smile and sunshine wherever he goes.  At age 91 he still drives somewhere everyday to be able to chat with someone, telling a joke or a story of his part in World War II.  Being a social bug, Daddy is different from my mom who is serious-natured and has a business mind.  Dad says I am cut from the same pattern as he was.  Mommy holds things together.  I think I have some of her traits too.

image

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge For a Guy http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Word Art Wednesday Challenge Weeks #234-235 
<a href=”http://http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/?m=1&#8243; rel=”nofollow”>http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/?m=1</a&gt;

Simon Says Stamp Work It Wednesday for May 2016 http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/blog/work-it-wednesday-may-2016/

This is not your typical masculine card.  I wanted to be able to deliver this message, so it just kind of happened.  It’s sweet and Daddy will know my heart.  To make my card I started with Tim Holtz Tumbled Glass Distress Ink on 5.25 x 4 inch Simon Says Stamp 120# smooth white background paper; adhered to fun foam cut a little smaller with E-Z Runner Tape and then adhered to a 5.5 X 4.25 inch card of Simon Says Stamp Orange Peel 100# cardstock. On the same white cardstock, stamp with Wplus9 Sending Sunshine Stamps; color with Tim Holtz Distress Markers and fussy cut the figures. Adhere with Liquitex Matte Gel Medium. On the card front, stamp Hero Arts CL 141 sentiment in Hero Arts Ombre Butterbar to orange Soda Ink and VersaColor Tea Green. I cut my own clouds and outlined them with a finger ink dauber in Simon Says Stamp Fog Ink. The sun was colored with Color Box Pigment Ink in Canary, fussy cut, then covered with Ranger’s Stardust Stickles. Sequins are Orange Craftmedley Box of Chocolates, 7mm and SSS Mixed Yellow and Clear. I drew on the musical notes with a Copic Liner Pen.

What do you think?  Is this card masculine enough for a man, or is it too cutesy?  Please leave a comment and tap on the LIKE button.  Thank you for taking the time to read.  Have a great weekend!

Smiles,

Tricia

2 thoughts on “To My Dad

  1. Virginia L. says:

    This is such a sweet and whimsical scene! Perfect for the Father’s Day card! Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Father’s Day/For a Guy” Challenge! Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

