Simple Sunday: Die Cut, Stamp and Emboss

Hello,

I’ve missed the past two Simple Sundays because we’ve been on vacation.  We went to West Virginia to celebrate my parents’ 70th wedding anniversary with them.  Then we went to my husband’s childhood home in Michigan, touring from Indiana all the way to Michigan’s Upper Peninsula at Sault St. Marie.  We didn’t cross the St. Mary’s River into Canada, because we don’t have a passport.  The last time we went to Canada a passport wasn’t required.  However, we knew this before the trip, of course, and that wasn’t in the plan.

The card I have for you today is very simple if you have the supplies.  That’s always a major hang up, isn’t it?  Just do what I do and use whatever you have that can give you similar results.   

FullSizeRender

                          CHALLENGE ENTERED                                          

Word Art Wednesday Challenge Weeks #234-235
<a href=”http://http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/?m=1&#8243; rel=”nofollow”>http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/?m=1</a&gt;

Faux stitch dies are so fun to use.  They give a card a finished look. 

I trimmed heavy Neenah Solar White cardstock to make an 8.5 x 5.5 inch card baseThis was folded in half to make a 5.5 X 4.25 inch card. I bought this pretty glistening yellow and blue 12×12 cardstock* by Recollections at Michael’s. The yellow cardstock was die cut with the 5.5 X 4.25 inch Lawn Fawn Stitched Rectangle Die. Using the same die set, I die cut a 65-80 # white cardstock using the rectangle die next to the largest one. Using a flourish stamp I’ve had for years, I stamped it in Tsukineko Brilliance Sunflower Yellow Ink and again in Tsukineko Brilliance Pearlescent Sky Blue Ink.  Brilliance Ink looks perfect with the glistening yellow and blue cardstock. I then cut out a rectangle of blue cardstock to fit within the faux stitching line andunderneath the stamping.  After this I cut a smaller piece of yellow cardstock to fit within the blue rectangle leaving the same amount of margin all around.  With the Brilliance Sky Blue Ink, I stamped my get well sentiment in the center of the rectangle.  Choosing an embossing folder that has a similar pattern to the flourish stamp, the yellow rectangle was cranked through my Cricut Create.  All of this was layered together as you see it by using Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape.  I finished the card by using Liquitex Matte Gel Medium to glue on blue and yellow frosted sequins.   

That’s it for today.  Time to get some slumber.  Don’t forget to click on the LIKE button.  I would love to hear something from you. 

Good night,

Tricia Ann

*If you can’t get this type of paper, you could use plain paper and coat it with a shimmer of something such as Zig’s Wink of Stella, Spectrum noir Sparkle Glitter Brush Pen Clear Overlay or Faber-Castell Glaze.

Leave a Reply

