Make Your Own Patterned Paper

.

Hey there!

Today, as usual, I looked at Simon Says Stamp Blog and found a new video by Yana Smakula on how to make your own patterned background paper.  She did such a nice job, and although I’ve done my own backgrounds before, she inspired me to do a flower background today.  I don’t have the same stamps that Yana used. but I like the way my card turned out anyway.  Below, I will give you a link for Yana’s video.

Make Pattern Paper 2016

Here’s a list of materials of the things I used to make my card:

  • Canson 90# watercolor cardstock, cut to 5.5 X 4.25 inches
  • 110# Neenah Solar White Cardstock, cut to 8.5 X 5.5 inches and folded
  • Bone Folder
  • Simon Says Stamp 100# Black Cardstock, cut to 2-7/8 X 2-1/8 inches  
  • Simon Says Stamp 100# Smoke Cardstock, 2-5/8 X 2-5/16 inches  
  • Creative Memories 12-inch Straight Trimmer
  • Studio 490 Wendy Vecchi Unlimited Art SCS 138
  • Memento Tuxedo Black Ink
  • Misti Stamping Tool
  • Copic Markers – Y13, Y15;  RV10, RV13;  B12, B14;  YG03, YG25;  0 Colorless Blender
  • Zig Clean Color Real Brush Marker, Gray Tint
  • Clustered Dots from Simon Says Stamp Set – Look for the Miracles
  • Embossing Buddy Powder Tool
  • Fiskars Happy Birthday Sentiment
  • VersaMark Ink Pad
  • Recollections Ebony Embossing Powder
  • Heat Gun
  • Ruler
  • Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape
  • Scotch 1/2 inch Mounting Tape
  • Flower Soft Sunshine Yellow
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • Silhouette Pick Me Up Sticky Pen Tool
  • Ranger Stardust Stickles
  • Pretty Pink Posh 4mm Clear Droplets
  • Tweezers

Setting Up – When I started making my card I wasn’t sure which media I would use to make the flowers.  My stamp wasn’t a layered set as Yana’s was, so I decided against using ink pads.  I use Distress Markers a lot, so I didn’t want to use them.  I decided to watercolor or use Copic Markers.  Really wanting to watercolor, I trimmed out a 5.5 X 4.25 inch piece of watercolor cardstock.  Then using my Misti Stamping Tool, I stamped the flowers with black ink.  I had to stamp them 3 times to get good impressions.  I started stamping by laying out the placement of the flowers in a triangle position, as that is most pleasing to the eye.  (However, later on when I placed the sentiment over the first flower I stamped, it can no longer be seen).  I then filled in the other spaces with the same flower image.

Coloring – I used two shades of each color family to color my flowers and leaves with Copics.  The Colorless Blender came in handy to clean up the ink when I occasionally ran over the outside lines.  My light source is coming from the left, so I tried to give that impression with lightness and shading.  To enhance this, I used the Colorless Blender to lighten up areas of the flowers.  This was a great help since I don’t have lighter Copic Marker hues and I wanted a summery pastel look.

Even with the help of the Colorless Blender, a shade of blue remained outside the lines.  And honestly, the Colorless Blender caused much of this bleeding, especially since I was using watercolor paper which absorbed and spread the alcohol in the Copics.

Lesson Learned Don’t stamp on watercolor paper to do Copic coloring!  After I did it, I remembered that I shouldn’t stamp on watercolor paper with Memento Ink to do Copics coloring, but I didn’t want to start over.  So, therefore!  I used the Gray Tint Zig Marker to trace around the flowers.  I have only one Zig marker and this is the first time I’ve used it.  I MUST HAVE MORE!  The ink glides on so smoothly that it is like gliding on ice.  Also Don’t stamp with Memento Ink and proceed to watercolor.  You will get black mud!

I wanted to fill in the empty spaces on the background so I went through my stamp sets until I found the cluster of dots in my new stamp set called Look for the Miracles.  I used the Misti for this, too, since stamping doesn’t take well to watercolor paper.  I used the Gray Tint Zig Marker to ink the stamp before pressing down.  In small places, I inked up only part of the cluster.

The Sentiment – Using my Embossing Buddy Powder Tool, I patted the smoke cardstock so the excess embossing sprinkles wouldn’t stick to the card where it shouldn’t. VersaMark Ink was applied to the Happy Birthday stamp in the Misti Stamping Tool.  I repeated the inking, just in case.  The black embossing powder was spread over the inked sentiment, shaken off and melted with a heat gun. 

Taping – The background panel was adhered to the card base using E-Z Runner Tape.  The black paper was adhered to the center of the card front with the tape runner, as well.  Three strips of the Scotch Mounting Tape were stuck to the back of the smoke cardstock and then adhered to the black cardstock.

Embellishing – I used the liquid glue to stick on the Flower Soft in the center of the blossoms.  The Pick Me Up Tool came in handy to help me get the Flower Soft to stay in place.  Then I lined each flower petal on one side with Stickles.  The fun part is seeing all of the pretties come together.  I used the dark Copic Marker colors used on the flowers to color the clear droplets.  To do so, I held each droplet with my tweezers as I colored it.  This was tricky because sometimes the droplet would go flying across the room!  I love the way these turned out.  I got this tip from __________.  I’ll put the link at the bottom.

This was a long post today, but I wanted to cover everything I did with all of my supplies listed.  I hope you find this helpful.  Please do click on the LIKE button at the bottom of this post.  I would be happy to read a comment from you as well.  Thank you for stopping by.

Happy stamping,

Tricia Ann     

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Pattern Paper
<a href=”http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/&#8221; rel=”nofollow”>www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/</a>

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Add Some Shimmer http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge Weeks #236-237 http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/2016/06/challenge-weeks-236-237-anything-goes.html

Simon Says Stamp Work It Wednesday for May 2016 http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/blog/work-it-wednesday-may-2016/

LINKS

Yana Smakula’s video on Stamped Patterns – http://ow.ly/9ssk301suCs

Svitlana Shayevich’s post on coloring Pretty Pink Posh Clear Droplets with Copic Markers – http://craftwalks.com/2016/05/17/altenew-stamp-focus-spring-daisy-video/

   

4 thoughts on “Make Your Own Patterned Paper

  1. Kitty Smith says:

    Beautiful card! If you hadn’t mentioned it, I never would have guessed that the grey outline was a bit of a “save” – everything about this card looks carefully planned out. I love it!

    Like

  2. onecraftystamper says:

    Brilliant! I love how you thought outside of the box and made your own beautiful patterned paper!! So glad you joined our Monday challenge at Simon Says Stamp this week! Maura

    Like

  3. Karen L says:

    This is AMAZING, Tricia Ann. That paper background you’ve created is OFF THE CHAIN beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing it in our challenge. I’m so grateful to have you play along, and I hope that you will join us again real soon.
    Have a blessed week, and God bless you!
    Karen Letchworth
    Word Art Wednesday
    http://www.karen-mycuprunnethover.blogspot.com – I’d love to have you stop by and say hello sometime.

    Like

Leave a Reply

