Make Your Own Background

Hi Stampers,

I had fun today with the same Wendy Vecchi flower stamp that I used yesterday.  My new friend, Marilyn, on the Flickr LOVE group posted a card that I really liked.  Because I liked it, she mailed it to me!  I wanted to make one like hers so she can so kind to tell me where she got the stamp and some other details about the card.  While I didn’t have the same ink colors and stamps that Marilyn has, I made it as similar to hers as I could.  My card came out a little darker than Marilyn’s, too, which possibly tells me that I have a more tense personality than Marilyn….ha!  I’m heavy-handed.  I will put a link at the end so you can take a look at Marilyn’s card on Flickr.  Hmm, when I put in the URL from Flickr, the picture of the card came up.  Marilyn told me after she took the picture that she added a third bough of leaves at the bottom.  The card I received has three boughs of leaves.  My thanks goes to Marilyn for this inspiration and for her kindness to share.

Make Your Own Background Paper

 

Setting Up – To get started, I placed the flower stamp on a medium-size acrylic block.   Archival black ink was used to stamp the flower only (not the leaves) on the mask paper.  I used scissors to trim around the flower.  Then I used Memento black ink to stamp the flower only on Copic paper.  I trimmed this out and set both flowers aside for later.

To ready my panel and card base, I used my trimmer to cut a card panel out of cream colored cardstock.  I like to use a lighter weight cardstock on top of the card base if I have the right color available.  This is a top-folding card, so I cut a piece of heavy cardstock        11 X 4.25 inches.  Afterwards, I scored it in half to fold, using my scoring board and sharpened the fold with my bone folder

Creating the Card Front Background – There was a lot to do, so let me know if you have questions.  This will be done on the 5 1/2″ X 4 1/4″cream-colored panel.  

  1. Use Post-It tape to mask off half the card diagonally with the narrow end at the top of the panel. 
  2. Using Cornflower Blue ink, ink up the Friend Definition Background Stamp that has been placed on a 5″ X 7″ acrylic block.  With a rag, lightly pat the ink here and there on the stamp to pick up the excess. 
  3. With the inked stamp facing up, lay the cream-colored panel down on the stamp and lightly pat here and there to do spot transferring to the card panel.
  4. Remove the Post-It tape, and move it to the other half of the panel where it has already been stamped. 
  5. Using the Myriad Dot Background Stamp, repeat steps 2 and 3.
  6. I don’t have a Stripes stamp, so I had to use my Diagonal Stripes Background Stamp at the bottom of my card.  If you have a Stripes Stamp, you can measure off a little over 5/8″, and stamp right on the cream-colored panel.  This didn’t work for me, so I had to cut a strip of paper and stamp on it.  If you do this, cut your cream-colored cardstock to a little over 6/8″.  This will be large enough to glue the black strip on top of the striped strip. 
  7. I used Tombow Mono Dots Adhesive to adhere the striped strip to the cream-colored card panel.  I like to use Dots Adhesive in small areas instead of Tape Runner, because I always go over the edge with it.  It’s easier to use your fingernail to smooth off the Dots than it is to turn under the tape.
  8.  Cut a strip of black cardstock to a little more than 1/8″ X 4 1/4″ and adhere it to the top of the striped strips using the Dots Adhesive
  9. I didn’t have the curly line stamp that Marilyn used over her black strip, so I settled for a small Flourish Stamp I found in my older stamp stash.  Using Memento Black Ink, I stamped the two ends first, then the center, then in-between the ends and the center to try to get things centered. 
  10. With Wild Honey Distress Ink Pad and a finger dauber go around the edges of the cream-colored panel with the ink.  Then ink the dauber, stamp on a scrap paper to get rid of excess ink, and then lightly spread the ink here and there over the card front.  Don’t go to heavy on this.  

Creating the Floral Arrangement on the Card Front 

  1. To make my flower, first I placed the flower stamp on a medium-sized acrylic block and masked the leaves on the flower stamp with Post-It Tape, leaving the swirls on the flower.  Memento Black Ink was patted onto the stamp and then the masking tape was removed before putting the stamp to the card front.  Let this dry a bit before coloring.
  2. Using the smaller of the two boughs on Wendy Vecchi’s leaf stencil and a different finger dauber than the one used above,I inked over the stencil and stamped 3 boughs around the flower.
  3. I used a Copic Multiliner Pen to add the dots where the leaves meet the stems.
  4. Copic Marker C2 was used to add shadowing under the leaves and flower.
  5. Color the flower with Copic Marker RV10, then outline it with R27.  Go over the petals again with RV10.  I used these colors because this is what I have.  You may have colors that you prefer to use.
  6. It is now time to color the flower that I stamped earlier on Copics cardstock.  To color, repeat the step 2.  Trim around this carefully with scissors
  7. I used a scrap piece of white fun foam to add height to the flower.  To do this, it was easier for me to stamp a piece of fun foam with the flower and cut around it in an oval shape.  If you don’t want to bother, you could just cut an oval or use foam tape or foam dots.
  8. Since I used fun foam to give my flower dimension, I adhered it to the flower on the card front with E-Z Runner Tape because it is stronger than the Tombow Dot Adhesive.  I placed it just a little lower than the flower stamped on the card.

Adding the Sentiment – I wasn’t sure what I was going to  do with this card, so I decided to stamp the sentiment, Thinking of You.  The sentiment came from a stamp set I’ve had before I knew I could share my cards, so the packaging was thrown away.  You, of course, could stamp any sentiment that fits in this spot.  I used Memento Black Ink for this so all the black would match and I stamped the sentiment in my Misti (Most Incredible Stamping Tool Invented), repeating the press down two or three times.

Finishing the Card Front – To add some glitz and glimmer to this card, I used my favorite Stickles, Stardust.  This was spread along the edges of the flower petal and along the black swirls.  Last of all, using a Pick Me Up Pen Tool, I placed three clear gems to the left of the flower and one in the center of the flower.  Just to make sure that the gems wouldn’t fall off, I used small dots of liquid glue (gel medium) to stick the gems to the card even though they already had adhesive on them. 

Thank you for joining me today.  For your convenience, I’ve made a list of supplies used.  Also, the photo of Marilyn’s card that inspired me is at the bottom.  I hope you give this card a try, using the materials you have.  Please click on the LIKE button at the bottom if you like this post.  I would be happy to read a comment from you as well. 

Happy, happy,

Tricia Ann

SUPPLIES

  • Archival Jet Black Ink
  • Studio 490 Wendy Vecchi Unlimited Art SCS 138
  • small acrylic block
  • medium acrylic block
  • 5″ X 7″ acrylic block
  • Inkadinkado Stamping Mask Paper
  • Scissors
  • Memento Tuxedo Black Ink
  • Copic Blending Card X-Press Paper
  • Creative Memories 12-inch Straight Trimmer
  • Recollection 65# Cream Colored Cardstock, cut to 5 1/2″ X 4 1/4″
  • 110# Neenah Solar White Cardstock, cut to 11 X 4 1/4 inches and folded in half
  • Martha Stewart Scoring Board, make a fold line at 5 1/2″
  • bone folder
  • Hero Arts Friend Definition Background Stamp CG125
  • Hero Arts Cornflower Blue Ink Pad
  •  rag
  • My Favorite Things Myriad Dot Background Stamp
  • My Favorite Things Diagonal Stripes Background Stamp
  • Ruler – I find that using a small sewing ruler is handier than a school ruler.
  • Tombow Mono Dots Adhesive
  • Recollections 65# black cardstock
  • small Fiskars Flourish Stamp (Wedding Sentiments Stamp Set, name unknown)
  • Tim Holtz Wild Honey Distress Ink Pad
  •  finger dauber
  • Studio 490 Wendy Vecchi Stencils for Art Lovely Leaves
  • Tim Holtz Shabby Shutters Distress Ink Pad
  • finger dauber
  • Copic Multiliner .35 Pigment Ink Pen
  • Copics Markers C2, R27, RV10
  • white fun foam
  • Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape
  • MISTI Stamping Tool
  • Hot Off the Press Sentiments, name unknown
  • Ranger’s Stardust Stickles
  • Silhouette Pick Me Up Sticky Pen Tool
  • Studio G Self-Adhesive Gems
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium

 

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Add Some Shimmer   http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge Weeks #236-237 http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/2016/06/challenge-weeks-236-237-anything-goes.html

Simon Says Stamp Work It Wednesday for May 2016 http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/blog/work-it-wednesday-may-2016/

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Thinking of You http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/

 

LINK

MARILYN’S CARD    https://flic.kr/p/FaMdMh

Bring the Spring Bling - March Challenge

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

2 thoughts on “Make Your Own Background

Leave a Reply

