Pattern Paper Plus

Pattern Paper Plus

Good Day,

Here I am again today playing with my new Wendy Vecchi Stamp Set.  I like everything about this card except the black smudging around the edges.  I used black embossing powder on the top center piece of the flower.  This made me wish I had done the entire flower with embossing powder.  This was supposed to be a quick throw-together card, but I think that’s out of my range of possibilities now.  I know too much to get away with doing little to my cards.  So once again I have a lot of details to write for this card.  Here we go…..

Preparing the Card Base:

  1. Creative Memories 12-inch Straight Trimmer – Use to cut the paper to size.
  2. 110# Neenah Solar White Cardstock, cut to 11 X 4 1/4 inches and folded in half, making a top folding card
  3. bone folder – Run the tool over the fold line to make the card lay flat.
  4. dotted pattern paper from a Simon Says Stamp Monthly Card Kit, cut to 5 1/2″ X 4 1/4″
  5. Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape – Tape pattern paper to card base front.
  6. blue pattern paper from a Simon Says Stamp Monthly Card Kit, cut to 4 1/4″ X 4″ – Tape this to the front of the card base 5/8″ from the bottom of the card.  For this I used a Ruler. – I find that using a small sewing ruler is handier than a school ruler.
  7. Tim Holtz Black Soot Distress Ink Pad – Go around the outside edges of the card front with a finger dauber.
  8. Simon Says Stamp Cotton Candy Ink Pad – Lay the card on a scrap piece of paper.  Ink a finger dauber and begin moving it in a circular motion onto the scrap paper, traveling on to the side of the cardAlways daub onto the scrap paper after applying ink before laying it on the card front.  Keep swirling unto the ink is blended and extends as far  as you want it to go.  You could do this before you tape the blue paper to the card front, but at the time I wasn’t sure what I would do next.
  9. Post-It Tape – Mask (cover) the yellow background on the card front top and bottom before you splatter ink. 
  10. Craft Mat – to have something on which to spread the ink
  11. Spray Bottle of Water – to dilute the distress ink
  12. Rag – to use to mop up excess water, ink
  13. Tim Holtz Black Soot Distress Ink Pad Press the ink pad onto the craft mat and spray it with water.
  14. Cardboard Box or Newspaper to lay down – Lay the masked off card on a clean sheet of paper and put it where you are going to splatter. 
  15. Tim Holtz Splatter Brush – Dip the brush into the diluted black soot ink and splatter it onto the blue portion of the card.

Stamping the Flower:

  1. Studio 490 Wendy Vecchi Unlimited Art SCS 138 Stamp Set – The large flower with the missing petals is the main stamp, but you will also need the stamp with the leaves. 
  2. Archival Jet Black Ink – This is compatible with Tim Holtz Distress Ink
  3. MISTI Stamping Tool – When stamping on watercolor cardstock, because of the porous texture, the image has to be re-stamped several times.  The MISTI makes this possible.  
  4. Canson 90# Watercolor Cardstock – With the smooth side up, stamp the flower image using the MISTI, as well as stamp the flower with the leaves (but you only need the large leaf), re-inking and pressing down 4 times.  Make 3 flowers and 1 leaf.  Let this dry before coloring.  One of the flowers will be cut apart to have 5 loose petals.  2 stems need to be colored to glue together to make a longer stem.
  5. VersaMark Ink Pad – Use this ink to stamp the center of the large flower.  
  6. Recollections Ebony Embossing Powder – Sprinkle this onto the stamped image.
  7. Heat Tool – Heat this up for 20 seconds, then melt the powder on the cardstock.

Coloring the Flower:

  1. Paint Brush – I used my water brush, because I like the way it puts the diluted ink on the paper, but you can use a regular paint brush.
  2. Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads:  
  • Squeezed LemonadeCover all 3 flowers with this using a finger dauber
  • Then dilute Mustard Seed with water – My light source is at the bottom right, so I water colored from the center, outward, leaving the petals lighter on the bottom side. 
  • Then use Orange Marmalade – With the ink diluted with water, blend this color in with the Mustard Seed.  
  • Color the centers of the flowers with Spiced Marmalade too. 
  • Save one of these flowers to use as the flower to go on top in the layering
  • Gathered Twigs – Use this hue to watercolor one flower to be used as the bottom layer flower that is shadowed and looks a little darker, but be careful!  The first time I did this, I went too dark and had to start all over by stamping another flower.
  • The third flower is going to be cut apart.  You need to color 2 petals to look like the top flower.  These will be the petals that have fallen off.  I hadn’t thought this through, so my fallen petals are a little too dark. 
  • Also, you need to color 3 petals with shading to be the under petals. 
  • Use Tim Holtz Mowed Lawn diluted with water to paint the 2 stems and the leafDarken the stems a little with diluted Black Soot.  Darker the top side of the leaf with Black Soot, as well.

Finishing the Flower:

  1. Scissors – Cut out flowers, embossed center, leaf and 2 stems.  Cut loose the 5 petals from one flower.
  2. Tombow Mono Dots Adhesive – Position the flower parts onto the card.  Use the darker, shadowed flower on the bottom, placing it with the missing petals to the top. 
  3. Glue in the 3 darker loose petals.
  4. Glue the lighter top flower in the center only on top of the dark flower with the petals rotated more to the right to show a peek of the darker flower underneath.
  5. Adhere the embossed flower center. 
  6. Save the 2 light-colored petals until you have stamped your sentiment
  7. Using the adhesive, position the stem.  Tuck the top of the stem under the flower.
  8. Trim the second stem to match the size of the stem where you join them together and glue this down. 
  9. Attach the leaf to the place where the 2 stems come together to hide the sectioned stems.

Add Shadow to the Picture:

  1. Using a Zig Clean Brush Marker, outline the top and the bottom of the blue paper. 
  2. Add shadowing around the flower, stem and leaf.

Stamping the Sentiment AND a Tip:

  1. Choose the sentiment you want.  I ordered the Get Well Rubber Stamp from a small company online and forgot to put the name of the company inside the miscellaneous stamps I ordered.  When I figure out where I ordered them I will put the company on this post.  The stamps could be purchased  the way I bought them, with the backing or with a wooden block, depending on how much you wanted to pay.  I chose the individual stamps I wanted without a backing.  I ordered backings called EZ Mount Cushions for my stamps from Creative Images.  I will put the link for this company at the bottom.  I have removed the wooden blocks from many of my stamps and added backing to them if needed, so I can use them in my MISTI tool.
  2. Embossing Buddy Powder Tool – I patted the blue cardstock so the excess embossing sprinkles wouldn’t stick to the card where it shouldn’t. 
  3. VersaMark Ink was applied to the Get Well Stamp in the MISTI Stamping Tool.  I repeated the inking, just in case. 
  4. Recollections Ebony Embossing Powder was spread over the inked sentiment, shaken off and melted with a Heat Tool.

To Finish:

  1. Using the Tombow Adhesive, position the 2 light-colored flower petals to the card front and glue down.
  2. Zig’s Clear Wink of Stella – Paint the entire flower with this for subtle sparkle.

 

Okay, that’s it!  Phew!  It takes longer to write it down than it does to make the card.  I can imagine how much time it takes to make a video on top of this!  However, I do enjoy the writing as much as the card making…..I think.  “=)  Take time to create something every day, even if it is just for 10 minutes as Kathy Racoosin says.  It has been proven that creating something, being part of a group, such as participating with other card makers, and sharing your product is good therapy and a stress reducer.  I was watching a video today on YouTube where Jenny of CraftTestDummies talks about this subject.  I’ll put the link at the bottom.  It is encouraging, so I hope you watch it.  

Thank you for taking the time to join me in sharing my craft.  I appreciate it so much.  If you like this post, please press the LIKE button at the bottom of the post.  I would love to receive a comment from you.  It makes my day and let’s me know that I am not wasting my time.  Since the day is about over, I will say…..

Have a crafty tomorrow,

Tricia Ann

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Pattern Paper
< a href=”http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/&#8221; rel=”nofollow”>www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/</a>

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Add Some Shimmer http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge Weeks #236-237 http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/2016/06/challenge-weeks-236-237-anything-goes.html

LINK

An online company where you can buy EZ Mount Cushions, backing for your stamps. – Creative Images  http://www.cistamps.com/

CraftTestDummies – Benefits of Crafting /ART TRIBE       https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ARlKdYa5Y8Q

 

5 thoughts on “Pattern Paper Plus

  1. Virginia L. says:

    Wow, this card is full of dimensions and details. I feel the love and passion that you have for card-making through this lovely creation! So glad that you join the fun over Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Add Some Shimmer” Challenge! Super work!

    Like

  2. Macarena says:

    Great mix of colors. I love the combo of grey and yellow and the big polka dots are really adorable. Thank you for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. Hugs, Marzena

    Like

  3. Carole says:

    This is a wonderful card and a very informative tutorial. We appreciate your wonderful art, so creative and beautiful. Thank you for sharing with us in the #236-#237 – Word Art Wednesday AG Challenge.
    Blessings, Carole

    Like

  4. Gail Scott says:

    Howdy! lots of work and love in this beautiful creation – love love that flower!! And I am Dropping by to say Thank you so much for entering your art work into WAW this week Anything Goes Challenge – where you can upload 5 pieces each week – a total of 10 opportunities to win a prize! Happy Dance – it is a blessing to have you come by and join the challenge – may your day be filled with fun and laughter and leaving you with this message “The Lord is Good – All of the Time” Blessings, Gail WAW DT

    Like

Leave a Reply

