A Bit of This, A Bit of That

 

 

Frozen Treats

Greetings!

I’m a little agitated because I try so hard to get a photo that shows the beautiful white of the card, and yet the photo comes out looking off white.  Yi!  My husband even helped me, and held two bright white lights to try to get a purer white.  Those made the card have a blue cast.  So I had to go back to photographing with my desk lamp.  Oh, well, C’est la vie.  If you’re like me and don’t speak French, that means, “Such is life.”  I’ll get the lighting worked out one of these days.

This was a fun card to make.  In fact, I want to do a variation of this card today.  After I saw the card Kelly Latevola did for Simon Says Stamps using ice cream treats, I wanted to do a similar card.  So thanks, Simon and Kelly.  I’ll link Kelly’s card down below. 

I started with a scrap piece of #110 Neenah Solar White Cardstock to stamp frozen treats with Newton’s Nook Summer Scoops Stamps, using a Memento Tuxedo Black Ink Pad.  I stamped with my MISTI Stamping Tool in order to be able to repeat the stamping if the images weren’t dark enough the first time.  I DID restamp.  After the ink on the images was nice and dry, I colored with Copic Markers

NOTE:  I used heavy cardstock, because Copic ink goes through the cardstock and shows on the back.  The ink would go through thin cardstock and leave a residue on the surface where you are coloring.  In fact, always color with Copics on top of a scrap paper. 

  • Beginning on the left, the strawberry ice cream bar with a chocolate shell was done with E70, E74, E79, O (Colorless Blender); RV10, RV13, R29
  • Both my wooden sticks were colored with Y00, E74 .  My Copic Markers are few, so you may have a better color selection than I do for the sticks. 
  • The Popsicle was colored with Y00, Y11, Y13 and YG03, YG17, YG25; the heart was colored with R29
  • The ice cream cone wears RV10, RV13, RV17, C0 on top; the ice cream is BG13, BG15, C0.  The cone has RV10, Y00, E70.  The sprinkles have Y18, B18, YG17.  Near the end of making the card, I didn’t like this, so I colored over the sprinkles with Zig Clean Color Real Brush Markers.
  • I then went over the black lines of the images with a Memento Black Dual Marker.

The frozen treats were fussy cut and set aside for later.  I prepared the front card panel by trimming #110 Neenah Solar White Cardstock  to 5.5 X 4.25 inches with a Creative Memories 12-inch Straight Trimmer.  I was tempted to use  Recollections 65# white cardstock from Michael’s because it cost less than Neenah, but I didn’t want the front panel to be a different shade of white than the card base. 

NOTE:  I like to use #110 Neenah Solar White Cardstock as a card base because it is sturdy.

I took my Tim Holtz Mini Blending Tool after inking it with a Tim Holtz Tumbled Glass Distress Ink Pad, stamped off on a scrap piece of paper, then made a circular motion on the upper end of my card base.  I made sure that I laid down enough background ink to surround the frozen treats after gluing them on.  I then used a Tim Holtz Spray Bottle of water and lightly spritzed the ink.  A paper towel was laid over this and pressed down immediately.  This is not watercolor paper, so you don’t want to use much water nor leave water on the paper for very long.  This didn’t give me the look I wanted, so I dipped a paint brush in water .  Holding the brush over the inked area, I tapped the brush to make sprinkles on the paper.  Again I absorbed the sprinkles with a paper towel and little blotches were left behind.  I wanted a little dazzle, so I put a smidge of Perfect Pearls in the Perfect Pearls color on an acrylic block and spritzed it with a little water.  Using the same paint brush, I mixed the Perfect Pearls with the water and tapped it onto the inked surface.  I let this dry.    

To stamp the sentiment, I used my MISTI and a VersaFine Black Ink Pad.  Laying the frozen treats on the card base and getting them to stay in place with a bit of Tombow Mono Dots Adhesive, I positioned the sentiment in the MISTI.  After stamping this, I also positioned sprinkles.  After stamping, I removed the frozen treats until later.  I colored the sprinkles with the Zig Brush Pens. 

The frozen treats were then glued to the card panel with Liquitex Matte Gel Medium.  I didn’t like the way the sprinkles looked on the ice cream cone so I covered them with a White Gelly Roll 08 Pen.  After drying, I re-colored the long sprinkles with Zig Markers.  I also applied the White Gelly Roll to the reflections on the ice cream bar and the Popsicle.  Then I went over the sprinkles with a Clear Gelly Roll Pen.  I let this dry.

I wanted a top folding card, so to prepare the card base, using the 12″ Trimmer, I cut a piece of 110# Neenah Solar White Cardstock to 11 X 4 1/4 inches.  Placed on a Martha Stewart Scoring Board, a fold line was creased at 5 1/2″ with a bone folder, making a 5.5 X 4.25 inch card.

The card panel was adhered to the card base with Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape. 

I used Glossy Accents on the ice cream bar chocolate shell (not the strawberry ice cream), the Popsicle, and the top shell of the ice cream cone.

That’s it, folks!  I wish you could see the card in person.  It is so bright and cheerful.  If you have found a way to take pictures of your cards and get the whites to look like true whites, please, please share your solution with me.  If you have any other comments, I would love to hear what you have to say.  As always, I would be so happy if you click on the LIKE button at the bottom.  Thanks so much for joining me today.  Now I have to get busy on my next ice cream card.  I’ve already had a Dove Strawberry Sorbet on a stick with a Milk Chocolate Shell this morning at 10:00!  I can’t help myself.  Working with these ice cream stamps that are so fun to use and having a treat in the freezer….. It’s my husband’s fault!  He bought them.

Happy stamping and eating a frozen treat,

Tricia    

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Add Some Shimmer –  My shimmer is from using Perfect Pearls, Gelly Roll Pen, Glossy Accents  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge Weeks #236-237 http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/2016/06/challenge-weeks-236-237-anything-goes.html

Newton’s Nook Designs Fan Feature Day 1    #newtonsnook

LINK

Kelly Latevola’s card – http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/blog/a-sweet-colored-treat/

 

 

  

One thought on “A Bit of This, A Bit of That

  1. jenn shurkus says:

    such a fun card! its so tricky to take pics of our cards sometimes 🙂 i think yours came out great! thank you for playing along with us at simon says stamp wednesday challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

