Photographing Cards – Patriotic ATC

 

Okay!  I made another patriotic card using the same supplies I used making my last card.  I will link the page below so you can look at the supply list.  I DID use a different sentiment and it is from the Hero Arts CL 158 Stamp Set.  I also added a banner from Our Daily Bread Pennant Swag Alphabet Set and their Pennant Swag matching Die.  This is an Artist Trading Card, so it is not a folding card.  It measures 3 1/2″ x 2 1/2″.

The area of interest on this post is with lighting when taking a photograph.  For several posts I have been griping about not being able to take get true whites in my photographs.  When I was ready to take a photo of this ATC, I happened to be watching a new program on YouTube called Online Card Classes Crafty Chat.  I will put the link below.  It is hosted by Lydia Fiedler, Jennifer McGuire and Kristina Werner.  The guest on this particular post was Debby Hughes and the topic was photographing cards.  Perfect timing!  Debby says the best light to use when photographing  cards is natural lighting.  Somewhere deep down inside, I knew this, but it is not easy to do at my house.  We live beside a hill in a valley and are surrounded by trees.

Before I listened to the Crafty Chat program, I took a picture of my ATC.  Well into the program, I took several pictures of the card by using light from the window.  As I fooled around with my iPhone camera and setting up a background, the light changed.  So I took the card outside to photograph.  Here’s the three I chose.

     inside with a lamp                          inside with window light          outside with natural light

1      2      3

Wow, what a difference!

  • The gray tone the lamp gives to the white looks pretty with the colors red and blue.
  • The off-white color that natural light from the window gives to the card is not desirable.  The reason I like this one is because it shows the Glossy Accents’ glow on the glass. 
  • The outside lighting in the last picture indeed gives a truer white.

So, which ATC strikes you as the best photograph?  I would love to hear your opinion.  The topic is open for discussion.  Please leave a comment by clicking on the word Comment under the page title.  If you like to see such comparisons again, or if you like the card itself, please tap the LIKE button at the bottom of the page.  Thanks for joining me today.  I’m stampin’ and I’m lovin’ it!  Do what you love.

Best regards,

Tricia Ann  

 

LINKS

My Other Patriotic Card Supply List on the Post before This One    https://coffincardsandcreations.wordpress.com/2016/06/30/double-happy/

Crafty Chat with Debby Hughes – Episode 2 – Cards & Photography   https://youtu.be/skMjuLvRjT4

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamps Wednesday Challenge Anything Goes  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge Weeks #236-237    http://www.inlinkz.com/new/view.php?id=642367

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Red, White and/or Blue http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/

3 thoughts on “Photographing Cards – Patriotic ATC

  1. Cathie C. says:

    Great ATC! Love the design and the fun patriotic theme. As far as voting for the photo I like best, I would have to go with the photo taken outside with natural light. Thanks for joining us on the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge.

    Cathie ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

