Mounted Die Cut with Distress Ink

I’m enjoying working for the first time with my palm trees die, which I’ve had for a good while.  Also, I’ve been working with other mediums lately and haven’t used my distress inks a lot, so this brings me back to how well they work.  Again, I am entering Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Photo Inspiration and must use he specific colors given for the challenge.  Please see the link below to check out the challenge. 

Mounted Diecut with Distress Ink

On my card base of Simon Says Stamp Lemon Chiffon cardstock for this top-folding card, I inked up a large background stamp and used the MISTI to stamp with a Broken China Distress Ink Pad.  I then stamped on Peacock Feathers Distress Ink in the same stamp position.  I tried layering on Scattered Straw Ink as well, but it didn’t show up.  I stamped Chipped Sapphire Distress Ink in patches here and there on the background stamp and pressed it onto the card base.  While this dried, I trimmed Neenah white cardstock to 3 7/8″ x 3″ and die cut the palm trees with the Cuttlebug in the center of the paper.  I saved the palm trees from this cut for another project because I wanted to color on watercolor paper.

The palm trees I colored were cut on a watercolor paper die cut and saved from my last card project.  I used Mowed Lawn and Antique Linen Distress Markers to color and then covered them with clear Wink of Stella.  This was set aside to dry.

For the sentiment, I first heat embossed Thinking of You on the card base with white embossing powder.  This didn’t show up well enough on the busy card base, so I traced over the words with a white gel pen.  This did little.  I traced over the words again with a white Jelly Roll pen….no change.  So I then took a chance and carefully wrote over top of the white letters with a Peacock Feather marker.  No!  It didn’t look bad, I kind of even liked it, but it didn’t show up well enough on the background.  So I decided that I had to stamp the sentiment on vellum.

The vellum I have was bought open-stock at Michael’s so I don’t know the weight of it.  I did know that it can withstand heat from a embossing heat gun.  So after I cut a strip of vellum, I inked up the stamp with a VersaMark sticky ink pad, sprinkled white embossing powder over the letters and heat embossed them.  I was sure to heat up my tool 20-30 seconds before taking it to the vellum, so the paper wouldn’t warp.  I also didn’t hold the heat in one place very long. 

To attach the vellum strip to the card, I put a slight  amount of Tombow Dot Adhesive behind the letters in three places.  Then I wrapped the vellum ends around the sides of the card and used Scotch Transparent Tape to tape them down.  My card base seemed flimsy, so I wanted a heavier cardstock on the card anyway.  So I covered up the Scotch tape pieces with a white card piece, adhered to the inside of the card base with EZ runner tape.  I adhered another white card piece on the other inside portion of the card, too.

At this point, the piece of Neenah white cardstock with the palm trees die cut in it was glued to the card front with liquid glue.  You have to be careful here, because the distress ink on the card base will smear when it gets wet.

Foam mounting squares were then adhered to the back of the palm trees to stick the palm trees to the card over the die cut area.  Some squares were cut in halves and even thirds to get them to fit on the tree branches.

Thank you for stopping by today.  If you like anything about this post, please take the time to click on the LIKE button at the bottom.  Also, you would make my day if you left a lovely comment for me. 

Have a good weekend,

Tricia Ann

 

TOOLS

  • Dahle Self-Healing Cutting 18×12 Mat
  • Creative Memories 12″ Straight Trimmer
  • Martha Stewart Score Board
  • bone folder
  • MISTI (Most Incredible Stamping Tool Invented)
  • Cuttlebug
  • Inkadinkado Embossing Magic Bag- Powder the area to be embossed.
  • Heat Gun

 

SUPPLIES

  • 100# Simon Says Stamp Lemon Chiffon Cardstock cut to 8 1/2″ X 5 1/2″, folded in half to make a top-folding card base
  • Hero Arts Waves Background Stamp
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads – Broken China, Peacock Feathers, Chipped Sapphire
  • Canon 90# Watercolor Paper
  • 110# Neenah Solar White Cardstock cut to 3 7/8″ x 3″
  • Spellbinders in’spire Paradise Palms Dies
  • Tim Holtz Distress Markers – Mowed Lawn, Antique Linen
  • Zig Wink of Stella, clear
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape
  • foam-backed small mounting squares
  • vellum cut to 1-3/16″ x 6″
  • VersaMark Sticky Ink Pad
  • Hero Arts White Embossing Powder
  • Scotch Transparent Tape
  • 110# Neenah Solar White Cardstock cut to 5-1/4″ x 4″ (cut 2 to go inside the card to cover the Scotch tape and to make the card feel more substantial)

 

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Photo Inspiration  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge Weeks #238-#239 – Anything Goes   http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Summer Fun  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/   

LINKS

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Photo Inspiration  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

My other posts using the same colors for the Photo Inspiration Wednesday Challenge on Simon Says Stamp:   https://coffincardsandcreations.wordpress.com/2016/07/08/freehand-watercolor/

https://coffincardsandcreations.wordpress.com/2016/07/09/negative-die-cut-with-distress-ink/

4 thoughts on “Mounted Die Cut with Distress Ink

  1. Carole says:

    The background is so pretty. This is so lovely. Thank you for taking time to share your creation with us in the #238-# 239 Word Art Wednesday Challenge.
    Blessings, Carole

    Like

  2. Emma says:

    Great card and I love the dies you’ve used ~ they’re fabulous! Thank you so much for sharing and for playing along with us over on the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

