Negative Die Cut with Distress Ink

Hello, hello!

I love the way this top-folding card turned out by using a finger dauber to spread distress ink across watercolor paper.  I also love the recessed palm trees with a little Wink of Stella glitz.  Too bad that you can’t see the glimmer in this photo.  This card was so much fun to make.  You should give it a go.

Die Overlay with Distress

After cutting my card front, I die cut the palm tree.  I saved the palm trees for another project and used only the negative die cut.  Still following the guidelines of using specific colors for Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge, I used the same distress ink pad colors that I used on my last card.  Except I didn’t use Pumice Stone on this card.  I will link all of this below.  After spreading the distress ink over the entire card front, I stamped it with a large background stamp above the yellow at the bottom with Peacock Feather Distress Ink.  Then I put Chipped Sapphire Distress Ink on the background stamp in small sections here and there, then stamped again so there would be variegated colors.

To color in the palm trees, I ran the die through my Cuttlebug again without the usual piece of plastic I keep in it to make a tight cut.  In this manner, I got the impression of the palm trees, but it didn’t cut through.  I used Mowed Lawn Distress Markers and Antique Linen Distress Markers to color it.  I then covered the trees with Wink of Stella and set it aside to dry.

Using my liquid glue, I went around the backside of the palm trees and attached the trees I had colored.  I then used EZ runner tape to adhere the card front to the A2 cardbase. 

I then die cut the word HELLO from Neenah heavy cardstock 3 times.  I put one of the HELLOs back in the negative portion of the cardstock in order to have an easier time of gluing the other two die cuts on top of it.  Using my liquid glue, I did just that.  I used the same to glue the word to the card.  Then I finished by gluing on 3 sequins.

That’s it.  It was either simple, or I am getting very accustomed to making cards.  Maybe a little of both.  If you like anything about this post, please take the time to click on the LIKE button at the bottom.  Also, you would make my day if you left a lovely comment for me. 

Happy summer,

Tricia Ann

TOOLS

  • cutting mat
  • Creative Memories 12″ Straight Trimmer
  • Cuttlebug
  • a finger dauber for each ink color
  • Martha Stewart Score Board
  • bone folder
  • MISTI (Most Incredible Stamping Tool Invented)
  • pick – to use to poke out the sentiment (I use a pick from a small set of picks in the houseware section at the dollar store.) 

 

SUPPLIES

  • Canon 90# Watercolor Paper, cut to 5″ x 3.75″
  • Spellbinders in’spire Paradise Palms Dies
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads – Starting at the bottom of the cardfront:  Scattered Straw (repeated going up), Broken China, Peacock Feathers, Chipped Sapphire
  • Tim Holtz Distress Markers – Mowed Lawn, Antique Linen
  • Hero Arts Waves Background Stamp
  • Zig Wink of Stella, clear
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • 110# Neenah Solar White Cardstock, cut to 8 1/2″ X 5 1/2″, folded in half to make a top-folding card base and also have a scrap piece to color the palm trees
  • Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape
  • Wplus9 Design Studio Hello Die
  • Pretty Pink Posh Springtime Mix Sequins, 6mm  

 

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Photo Inspiration  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge Weeks #238-#239 – Anything Goes   http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Summer Fun  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/   

 

LINKS

Designer Jenn Shurkus for Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge  http://shurkus.com/cards/sunshine-photo-inspiration

My other post using the same colors for the Photo Inspiration Wednesday Challenge on Simon Says Stamp: https://coffincardsandcreations.wordpress.com/2016/07/08/freehand-watercolor/

 

7 thoughts on “Negative Die Cut with Distress Ink

  1. Virginia L. says:

    The textures and design are awesome! Your creative display is lovely, too! So glad that you join the fun over Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Photo Inspiration” Challenge! Super work!

    Like

  2. J. Atterbury Creations says:

    The scene you created here is amazing and great use of the negative space of a die. We are so blessed that you joined our Challenge at Word Art Wednesday. We have a new Challenge going on and we hope you can link with us again. Leaving you with the inspiration of God’s Word in Jeremiah 32:17 which says, “‘Ah, Lord God! It is you who have made the heavens and the earth by your great power and by your outstretched arm! Nothing is too hard for you.”

    God bless,
    JO ANN
    http://jatterburycreations.blogspot.com

    Like

  3. cheiron says:

    Fabulous card. I love the textured look and vivid colors on your background. Thank you so much for playing along with us this week over at the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

