Whoooo

Whoooo wants to join me for a visit to Wilbur the Owl?  Come along!

 

wilbur-watermarked

I showed my husband, Jan, the card I made and asked him what I should name the owl.  He immediately said Wilbur.  Then I showed him a card I made a while back, stamped with a different owl and he said to name him Orville.  I said, “Okay!”  Then Jan reminded me that Orville and Wilbur are the names of the Wright Brothers who were two American brothers, inventors, and aviation pioneers who are generally credited with inventing, building, and flying the world’s first successful airplane in Kitty Hawk, North Carolina.  I laughed and replied, “That’s right, and owls fly!”  So Orville and Wilbur it is.  Ha! 

Here’s my other card, but I’m not going to be talking about this one, Orville, today.

Orville.JPG

Now…..back to the first card, Wilbur.  I love this new stamp I recently purchased online at Simon Says Stamp.  It is Jane’s Doodles WISE OWL Clear Stamp Set.  

Wilbur 2

 

 

 

 

Here’s the steps I took in making this card:  

  1. I used the smooth side of Ranger’s Tim Holtz 4.25 X 5.5 DISTRESS WATERCOLOR PAPER.
  2. The large and small feathers that matched in the stamp set were stamped randomly over the cardstock with VersaFine Black Onyx Ink, using my MISTI (Most Incredible Stamping Tool Invented).  I let this dry awhile before water coloring.
  3. Using a Ranger Craft Mat, I laid down a Tim Holtz’ Distress Ink Pad color in Mermaid Lagoon and spritzed it with a spray bottle of waterTIP:  I use purified water so the bleach in city water won’t change the color of my inks.  Using an 8″ round watercolor paint brush, I painted half of the feathers, going outside the lines on purpose.  I had a cup of water to keep my brush wet and a rag to mop up.  
  4. Next I used the same procedure to paint the other half of the feathers with Cracked Pistachio Distress Ink, coloring outside of the lines.  I let this dry.
  5. For the background behind the feathers, I used a 10″ round watercolor paintbrush with Antique Linen Distress Ink spritzed with water.  I let this dry.
  6. Tim Holtz’ Distress Paint in White Picket Fence was thinned with water and splattered onto the feather background with a Tim Holtz’ Distress Splatter Brush.  This was allowed to dry.
  7. The background panel was then trimmed to 5″ x 3 3/4″ with the Creative Memories 12″ Straight Trimmer.
  8. The owl, Wilbur, was stamped onto #140 Strathmore Watercolor Paper.  I used this because I didn’t want to use up my Tim Holtz Watercolor Cardstock that comes in A2 card size.  Wilbur was stamped about 3 times using a VersaFine Black Onyx Ink Pad on and my MISTI Stamping ToolTIP:  I allowed this to dry a bit before water coloring because VersaFine is a pigment ink and stays wet longer than dye ink. 
  9. Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads in Antique Linen, Brushed Corduroy, Ground Expresso and Wild Honey mixed with Brushed Corduroy were used on the owl.  First I used a finger dauber to spread Antique Linen over Wilbur’s feathers.  I then used 1″ and 2″ round watercolor brushes to apply the paint to Wilbur’s feathers.  The Wild Honey mixed with Brushed Corduroy were used on Wilbur’s beak and feet.  After the paint at the top of the owl’s head dried some, I used the 1″ paint brush to make strokes with Brushed Corduroy.
  10. The inside of the eyes, the pupils, were painted with Ground Expresso, which is almost black.  I probably could have skipped this step, because later I covered the pupils with Ranger Inkssentials Enamel  Accents in Black, being sure not to peak the enamel but keep it flat.  I used a toothpick to clean up around the pupil.  I let this dry. 
  11. I went around the pupils with a Signo Uni-ball White Gel Pen, then left the card alone so it would dry.  I used a toothpick to clean up around the whites of the eyes.
  12. After the eyes were dry, like a dummy I traced around the white gel with a Faber-Castell Artist Pen in Black, Medium Point.  I have ruined about three of these pens doing this, so I finally stopped trying this again and traded the pen for a Sharpie Black Fine Point Pen.  TIP:  Do not go over Signo Uni-ball White Gel Pen with a Faber-Castell Artist Pen, because it ruins the tip and the tip cannot be replaced.  After using the White Gel Pen, the eyes didn’t look complete, so I went over this with Ranger Inkssentials Enamel  Accents in White.  I used a toothpick to clean up around the whites of the eyes. 
  13. Using EK Success Cutter Bee Scissors, I cut out the owl.
  14. TIP:  My Zig Wink of Stella GLITTER CLEAR Brush Tip Marker is practically used up, so I added water to the barrel to extend the life of the marker.  If you hold the marker up to the light, you can see the remains of glitter in the barrel.  After adding water to the barrel, put the top back on the marker and shake it to mix the water and glitter.  I applied Wink of Stella to the separated feathers on the owl but not on top of the head.  I also applied it on the dark brown slashes going around the eyes.  I set this aside to dry.
  15. Using a Creative Memories Circles Custom Cutting System, a Blade and Cutting Mat, I cut a piece of Vellum to go under the owl.
  16. To make the sentiment, “Whoo” from 2747SMP – Whoo Loves You Stamps, I first wiped Inkadinkado EMBOSSING MAGIC Powder Bag on a piece of 65# Recollections Black Cardstock.  The MISTI was used to stamp the sentiment with a VersaMark Ink Pad.  Hero Arts White Embossing Powder was sprinkled over the sentiment and shaken off.   A Heat Gun was used to melt the powder.  I then trimmed the paper around the sentiment and cut a fish tail on one end. 
  17. I used the computer to print out “has been so nice?” on 110# Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock.  I trimmed around it with a Lawn Fawn Square Faux Stitching Die going through a Cuttlebug Embossing Machine.  The square die was then moved up on the square I had just cut to shorten the paper and end up with a better fitting rectangle.
  18. A piece of 65# Recollections Multicolored Blue Cardstock (from Michael’s Craft Store) was run through the Cuttlebug Embossing Machine with the largest Lawn Fawn Rectangular Faux Stitching Die to make the background behind the feathers.
  19.  A card base of 8.5″ x 5.5″ was cut from 110# Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock with the 12″ Trimmer to make an A2 top-folding card.  This was scored on a Martha Stewart Scoring Board and pressed down with a bone folder.
  20. All parts were adhered to the card base with Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape.
  21. On the inside of the card, I stamped “You that’s whoo!”

While the card looks simple enough, as you can see, it took many steps to complete it.  What do you think?  Do you like it?  If so, please click on the LIKE button at the bottom and make my day!  I would appreciate a comment from you.  Thank you for having a gander. 

Good day,

Tricia and Wilbur  (haha)

 

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Things with Wings  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Simon Says Stamp Work It Wednesday for June  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/blog/category/events/work-it-wednesday/

Word Art Wednesday Anything Goes Challenge Weeks #240-#241   <a href=”http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/&#8221; rel=”nofollow”>wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/</a>

Leave a Reply

