Make a Simple Easel for Your Card

Hi there,

One of my best friends, Evelyn, is having a birthday.  Evelyn likes to display the cards she receives on her counter top.  As you can see with this card, it will not stand due to the short card front.  So I attached an easel to the back so her card can stand alone without leaning against something.   Today I want to show you how to make an easel card that is very simple to make.  I used 140# Strathmore Watercolor Paper.  Using my 12″ Straight Trimmer, I cut a piece that is 11″ x 4 1/4″ to make an A2 size card when folded in half with a Martha Stewart Score Board and bone folderTo enable this card to stand, I cut another piece that is 4 1/4″ x 4″.  Using the score board again, I scored the 4″ side of the paper at 3″ and folded down 1″ of the paper with the bone folder.  I set this aside to attach to the back of the card after I made the card.

Simon Says Stamp A2 Card Curved Edge and a Cuttlebug were used to cut off the bottom of the front of the card.  I just eyed this instead of measuring it. 

2016.jpg

On a Ranger Craft Mat, Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads were used to lay down separate colors in Twisted Citron, Mowed Lawn, Salty Ocean and Wilted Violet (in this order, starting at the top).  I needed a cup of clean water, a rag, and a 10″ round watercolor brush.  The ink was painted lightly on the right side of the card going down past the curved edge, overlapping the colors.  TIP:  Lightly apply the ink.  The first time I did this, I got the colors too dark.  I had to start over.  My butterfly stamps in the same colors would not show up on top of the dark paint.  This was allowed to dry completely.  Afterwards I laid a large acrylic block on it and placed heavy items on top to encourage the front of the card to lay flat. 

 Using the MISTI and Hero Arts Antique Flowers and Butterflies Stamp Set, I stamped a medium-sized butterfly at the top in Twisted Citron, a small butterfly in the middle in Salty Ocean, and a large butterfly at the bottom in Wilted Violet.  The large butterfly stamped partly on the inside of the card under the curved edge.  Do not remove the stamps from the MISTI!  I let this dry. 

Now for the inside of the card, I re-inked the large butterfly with Wilted Violet and stamped it on top of the partial large butterfly.  The Twisted Citron and Salty Ocean butterflies were supposed to be stamped, but I didn’t think of removing them before stamping the large butterfly.  So I got second-generation stamped butterflies for them on the inside of my card.  I liked it.  This had to dry.  The front of the card was already warped so I let it air dry.

Mixing a little water into Wilted Violet ink on the craft mat with Tim Holtz Distress Splatter Brush, I splattered purple specks on the card front.  This of course went on the bottom of the inside of the card, too.  After this dried, I folded back the front of the card and held it down with Post-It Tape.  I laid a piece of paper over the larger portion of the card and just splattered purple sprinkles on the large purple butterfly.  I allowed this to dry.

At this point, I stamped my sentiment on the inside of the card using the MISTI.  Because this was watercolor paper, I had to stamp things about 4 times because I like them dark.  I also stamped the Happy Birthday on the front of the card using a VersaFine Onyx Black Ink Pad and Inkadinkado Happy Birthday.  It was adhered to a clear acrylic block, but I removed the stamp to use in the MISTI.

Now to stamp my vellum butterflies, I used Vellum from Michael’s Craft Store.  After patting an Inkadinkado EMBOSSING MAGIC Powder Bag over the surface of the vellum,  I stamped all three butterflies with a VersaMark Ink Pad.  Recollections Ebony Embossing Powder was sprinkled on the images and the loose powder was shaken off.  I then used a  Heat Gun to melt the powder.  I was in a hurry and forgot that I have matching dies for these stamps, so I fussy cut the butterflies with EK Success Cutter Bee ScissorsTIP:  These scissors are THE BEST!  They are sharp and cut with precision.  It is easy to get into small places with them.

I thought I should attach the easel to the back of the card before decorating the front.  Retrieving my 4 1/4″ x 4″ piece of watercolor paper, all I had to do was run some strong adhesive along the 1/2″ section that was folded down.  To do this I used Ranger Inkssentials WONDER TAPE 1/2 Inch Double Sided The bond on this tape is excellent.  After removing the red plastic shield from the tape, I lined up the easel portion with the back of the card with the taped edge near the center of the card.  I pressed down the taped section.  Now I had an easel on which the card could lean against, just like a picture in a frame setting on a table. 

Wanting some glimmer, I brushed Crafter’s Companion Clear Overlay Spectrum Noir on Happy Birthday and the butterflies.  I even brushed a little on the butterflies under the vellum wings.  TIP:  When brushing Spectrum on distress ink, it will activate the ink and cause it to move and lose the pattern.  I wasn’t concerned about this on the front of the card since I would be covering them with vellum.  The overlay DID make the markings smear together.  However on the inside of the card, I wanted the markings to remain on the butterflies because they wouldn’t be covered with vellum.  So instead of brushing on the Spectrum Overlay, I dabbed it on just a little.  Dabbing did the trick.  I gave this time to dry.

Adhering the vellum butterflies on top of the inked butterflies with the Spectrum Overlay on them was a problem.  I had to hurry and put this card with the birthday gift and go, so maybe I would have had less trouble if the Spectrum had dried a long time.  I tried adhering the now-folded vellum butterflies on the fold-line with Zots Clear Adhesive Dots and they wouldn’t stick.  So I got out my Ranger Inkssentials WONDER TAPE 1/8 Inch Double Sided, and unbelievable!  It wouldn’t stick!  What DID work was Liquitex Matte Gel Medium.  I ran the glue down the fold of the butterfly, stuck it overtop of the familiar butterfly and held it with my finger.  Then I placed a small acrylic block over it for a while.  This worked on all three butterflies.  After they were stuck, I raised the butterfly wings.  I didn’t put this card in an envelope.  I just laid it on top of the item in the gift bag.

Now to finish decorating the card, I selected sequins to match my colors.  Using the Liquitex Matte Gel Medium to adhere them, I picked out sequins from CraftMedley Viola, Pretty Pink Posh Lime Sorbet, and Little Things from Lucy’s Cards in Caribbean Dream.  I used a Lifestyle Crafts QUICKSTIK Precision Pickup and Placement Tool to assist me with the sequins.  These were a pain to attach in a hurry.  Never, never, never again.  Ha!  Never say never.  After it was too late to remove some of the sequins, I didn’t like that many on the card.  I think I overdid it.  Again, that’s what happens when you’re in a hurry.  Plus I have problems with sequin placement anyway.  TIP:  When adhering sequins, do it when you have plenty of time to decide where to place them, and to get them to stick to your project instead of to your fingers. 

Because the paper is so thick, the front of the card WOULD NOT behave itself and lie flat against the back.  Fortunately I have some cute, small paperclips from Doodlebug Designs Inc, so I used one to hold the front closed when it is standing and resting on the easel.

I got my inspiration to make this butterfly card from a YouTube video by Yainea.  She has a blog called My Paper Journey.  Her card is not an easel card, but you will be able to see how she did her beautiful artistic work.  Watch the video by following the link below.

My lessons almost always go on too long, but I want to make sure that you get all of the details to help you, if you decide to make a card similar to this.  If you like this card, please click on the LIKE button at the bottom of the page.  Feel free to leave a COMMENT too.  I would really like to hear from you, and it would help me with my creations. Thanks a lot!

Have a great day,

Tricia Ann

 

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Things with Wings  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Anything Goes Challenge Weeks #240-#241   <a href=”http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/&#8221; rel=”nofollow”>wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/</a>

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Celebration  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/

   

LINK

Pop Up Butterflies Cards by Yainea at My Paper Journey  http://mypaperjourney.blogspot.com/2016/06/pop-up-butterflies-cards-with-avery.html?m=1

 

2 thoughts on “Make a Simple Easel for Your Card

  1. smouwen says:

    Wonderful card, the background is so colorful and the butterflies are so fun. Thank you so much for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. Hugs, Sandra

    Like

Leave a Reply

