Simple Sunday: Matching Background Stamp and Embossing Folder Card

Hello Card Makers,

I am having second thoughts on Simple Sunday.  Not many of the cards I make are simple, since I like to try new techniques, and I do detail work a lot.  I hate to eliminate Simple Sunday, since occasionally I DO craft simple projects, and I know this helps a beginner or someone who needs an idea to make a card in a hurry.  So I’ve decided to include what I will call Sunday Sample as a alternate to Simple Sunday.  So as not to get the card (did I say card?  I didn’t write card on purpose.  I meant cart! 🙂 before the horse, I am giving you a Simple Sunday card today. 

I got a new background stamp this past week, and it has a matching embossing folder.  This is the first time I have seen a set like this.  So I have been excited to use it.  So far I’ve used four different techniques to make my card fronts.  The one I am showing you today is the easiest one to put together.  We had rain late this afternoon, so I wasn’t able to take a photograph outside where the light would show the true whiteness of the cardstock.  This is how it looks:

1 Stamp Emboss

up close

2 Stamp Emboss

The Card Front

  • 110# Neenah Crest Solar White cardstock, cut to 4.25 X 5.5
  • Sizzix Textured Impressions Embossing Folder w/Stamp – Merry Background Set; the background stamp was manufactured by Hero Arts; I purchased it at scrapbook.com.
  •   657770
  •  Inkadinkado EMBOSSING MAGIC Powder Bag
  • VersaMark Embossing Ink Pad
  • MISTI (Most Incredible Stamping Tool Invented)
  • Recollection’s Clear Gold Embossing Powder (from Michael’s Craft Store)
  • Heat Gun
  • Cuttlebug Embossing Machine – Line the gold embossed panel up inside the embossing folder that came in the set and tape the folder together on both sides with Post-It Tape.  Run it through the Cuttlebug. 

I am so pleased the way the card front looks with the stamped images and matching embossed areas that are raised.  The images look like they have been stamped on another cardstock, cut out and adhered to the card front although they have not. 

Card Base

  • 110# Neenah Solar White cardstock, cut to 11” X 4¼” and folded in half
  • Scrapbook Adhesives EZ Runner Tape

There it is, so simple.  I hope this inspires you to make a beautiful, simple card.

Tricia Ann

 

 

One thought on “Simple Sunday: Matching Background Stamp and Embossing Folder Card

Leave a Reply

