Sunday Sample: Sending Wishes

Hello Lovers of All Things Paper,

I love this paper pad from My Mind’s Eye.  This card was easy to make because it was mostly paper piecing.  I like the way it ended up.  Haha…..ended up….with the kites!  I really like the way the WISHES sentiment turned out by using a printed paper and putting Glossy Accents on the word after it was die cut and adhered to the card.  I think the sequins in the selected colors made a nice addition to the card, as well.

william-20161

Instructions:

For the card I made, I used these supplies in the following order:

Card base is 110# Neenah Solar White cardstock cut to 11 X 4¼ inch, folded in half to make a 5½” X 4¼” card with the fold at the top.

Front panel is 5½” X 4¼” cut from My Mind’s Eye 6X6 paper pad called Follow Your Heart – Be Amazing. Scrapbook Adhesive E-Z Runner Tape was used to adhere the panel to the card base.

My Favorite Things Myriad Dot Background was stamped onto the front panel with Tim Holtz distress ink in Antique Linen. I can’t remember the sentiment stamp I used, but you can use any sentiment stamp you have as long as it goes along with the meaning of the card and is the right size.

The thin band of paper was outlined with the fine tip of the Tim Holtz distress Antique Linen Marker.

I found a picture of a kite a on my desktop computer and adjusted the size to what I needed for my card front. I used tracing paper to trace the kite on the screen in order to get the correct dimensions. I then went over the lines of the kite on heavy cardstock and cut it out. This was my template to use to trace the kite on a piece of patterned paper from my paper pad. About 3 inches of Doodlebug Design Doodle twine was cut to make the kite tail. I then tied 3 pieces of twine at intervals on the tail, trimmed off the excess and fringed them with my picker point. All was adhered with Zots Bling Clear Adhesive Dots. The kite string is one strand of DMC Silver Metallic Thread that is separated into 3 parts.

The sentiment was stamped with Archival Coffee Dye Ink using Simon Says Stamp Prayers stamp. WISHES was die cut using Wplus9 Happy Wishes Words Die.

Multicraft Imports 7mm Cup Sequins, Box of Chocolate were glued to the front of the card with Liquidex Matte Gel.

Glossy Accents was applied to the kites and the word, WISHES.

Let me know what you think. I like the theme and the colors. After the Glossy Accents dried overnight, I put the card in the mail for my nephew’s birthday.

MAILING A CARD – TIP:  On the envelope of this card I stuck a piece of colored Post-It Tape (so it would show up on the white envelope) with the words, PLEASE HAND STAMP, written on it.  Then I stuck a 71 cents postage stamp on the envelope to cover the extra 20 cents fee for hand stamping mail at the post office and not running it through their stamping machine.  I then put it in my mailbox for the postman to pick up.  In this manner, I avoided a trip to the post office.  It is always nice to have postage stamps on hand of miscellaneous amounts.  If I’m not sure of the current postage rates, I go online to the United States Postal Service at https://www.usps.com/.  Another thing that has helped me is owning a small postal scale.  This helps me quickly see if my card/letter is under, or over, 1 ounce.  If my card is over 1 ounce (but less than 2 ounces), I have to add an additional 20 cents onto the cost of mailing the card.  If I don’t want the card to go through the pressing machine at the post office, thus writing a note that says Please Hand Stamp, that is another 20 cents added to the postage.  So the current U.S. price of mailing a letter – 51 cents postage, plus 20 cents if the card weighs more than 1 ounce, plus 20 cents if I don’t want the card to be machine stamped at the post office – which equals 91 cents to mail the card.  If this doesn’t make sense to you, just ask me in a comment and I will gladly reword it. 

Here’s another TIP:  When you receive stamps, dies, etc. delivered through the mail, save a few padded envelopes, especially the envelopes that are lined with bubble wrap.  When you send a card that you don’t want smashed, cut a piece of padded envelope the same size as your card and lay it over the top of the card before placing it in the envelope.

Thank you for giving me a little part of your day,

Tricia

 

LINK

Look online at United States Postal Service for current postage rate, to order stamps, for zip codes and so on –  https://www.usps.com/

CHALLENGE ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Summer Fun  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/   

WAW

Leave a Reply

