One of a Kind

Hello Friends,

I made this card for an elderly friend of mine who is in the hospital.  I wanted to enter it in the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Go Fish, so that influenced my theme.  On the inside of the card, I wrote “You’re one of a kind, so get better soon.  We need you in our lives.”  The gentleman I am sending the card to is a jovial sort.  We enjoy each other’s company, laughing and joking to the max.

one if a kind

 

I started the card with watercolor paper in the front and worked my way back.  Here’s how I did it.  You use the supplies YOU have to come up with something similar and those should work just fine.

Card Front

  • 90# Canson Watercolor Paper cut to 3-3/4 x 3-3/4
  • Paper Trimmer
  • Lindy’s Stamp Gang Stardust Tibetan Poppy Teal Spray
  • Heat Gun
  • Zig Clean Color Real Brush Markers – Draw by hand coral and small fish

 

Fish

  • Hero Arts Color Layering Goldfish Stamps and Die Sets
  • MISTI Stamping Tool
  • Cuttlebug Emboss and Die Cut Machine
  • 110# Neenah Solar White Cardstock
  • Hero Arts Bubblegum Ink Pad 
  • Hero Arts Ombre Butter Bar – Orange Soda
  • Simon Says Stamp Hydrangea Ink Pad
  • Finger Dauber
  • Tim Holtz Stencil
  • Archival Jet Black Ink Pad – for the fish face
  • Post-It Tape – to hold down the dies on the images
  • Crafter’s Companion CLEAR OVERLAY Spectrum Noir Sparkle Pen
  • Glaze Black Jelly Roll – Go over the fish face.

 

Seaweed

  • 80# Neenah Solar White Cardstock
  • Simon Says Stamp Green Leaf Ink Pad
  • Simon Says Stamp Green Apple Ink Pad
  • Zig Brush Markers – to add highlight to the seaweed 
  • Spectrum Noir Sparkle Pen

 

Stones

  • 65# Recollections White Cardstock
  • Archiver’s Coffee Ink Pad
  • Spectrum Sparkle Pen

 

To glue the fish, seaweed and stone down, I used Liquitex Matte Gel Medium, then laid an acrylic block on top of them until they  dried. 

 

Orange Border

  • 80# Neenah White Cardstock, cut to 4 x 4 inches
  • Simon Says Stamp Coral Reef Ink Pad
  • Finger Dauber – Take the ink around the perimeter of the square.  The center will be covered up.

 

Card Base

  • 110# Neenah Solar White Cardstock, cut to 11 x 4-1/4 inches to make a 5-1/2 x 4-1/4 inch top-folding card
  • Martha Stewart Scoring Board

 

Adhere Layers

All the layers were adhered together with Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape.

TIP:  I use a brayer to roll over my layers to be certain they are flattened and glued together well.  Brayers can be purchased where paper crafting supplies are sold.  I will add a link belowI didn’t want to buy one, so I used a brayer I already had, but never used.  It was purchased from Pampered Chef many years ago to roll dough.  After purchasing it, I found I preferred using my rolling pin, so it lay dormant for years.  Then I got the bright idea to use it in my paper crafting.  LESSON LEARNED:  If you can, use what you aleady have instead of buying something from the craft store.   After I rolled my layers flat, I laid an acrylic block on top of them until they  dried.  It doesn’t take long to get a fast hold.  

 

The Trim

  • My Mind’s Eye Everyday Basics 6×6 inch Paper Pad
  • Paper Trimmer – Cut 1/4 inch strips.
  • Tombow MONO Adhesive Dots  – Use this to glue down the striped trim.
  • Ruler – I use this to get the trim at the same position on the top of the card as on the bottom of the card.  TIP:  My favorite ruler to use in card making is a small metal ruler purchased years ago in a Sewing Department.  It has a slider that can be set to your measurement.  It also is much easier to handle than a school ruler.   I can no longer find this particular ruler.  I bought another one that I thought would be the same, but I don’t like it.  The slider does not stay anchored where I set it.  It DOES have more measurement markings on it, such as 1/16, but it doesn’t cut it for me.  I will give a link below to a similar sewing ruler.   
  • EK Success CUTTER BEE Scissors – Position the striped trim and adhere it so it has to be cut off only at one side of the card.  TIP:  If you cut a strip that is 4-1/4 inches long, it may be a smidgen too short and have a tiny space showing on one side.  It’s best to leave the strip 6 inches long, and then trim it off the side after adhering it to the card. 
  • Pretty Pink Posh Clear Droplets, 4mm and 6mm
  • Glossy Accents – Adhere droplets to card over the fish to imitate air bubbles.

 

I hope the supplies listed and directions help you.  Please let me know if you like this.  As you can see it takes a lot of time to list everything.  If no one is reading it, I am wasting my time.  I want to help you.  If you have a question, please ask me.  Press the LIKE BUTTON at the bottom of the page and LEAVE A COMMENT at the top of the page under the title.  Thank you for reading this and for letting me know how I did.

Sincerely,

Tricia Ann

LINKS

Dritz Sewing Gauge – https://www.amazon.com/Dritz-620-Sewing-Gauge/dp/B000YZ8N46/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1472482905&sr=8-3&keywords=sewing+ruler

brayer   Here’s a rolling pin that is similar to mine – https://www.amazon.com/Norpro-3077-Wooden-Pastry-Roller/dp/B000HK2DNA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1472484556&sr=8-1&keywords=pampered+chef+rolling+pin

brayer 2    Crafting Brayer – Ranger Inkssentials INKY ROLLER MEDIUM Ink Brayer  https://www.simonsaysstamp.com/product/Ranger-Inkssentials-INKY-ROLLER-MEDIUM-Ink-Brayer-Stamp-BRA09887-20181?currency=USD

 

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Go Fish <a href=”http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/&#8221; rel=”nofollow”>www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/</a>

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge It’s Hip to Be Square  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge Weeks #244-245 – Anything Goes   <a href=”http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/&#8221; rel=”nofollow”>wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/</a>

2 thoughts on “One of a Kind

  1. Virginia L. says:

    Tris truly is one of a kind! Love how you treated fish like an family member! So glad that you join the fun over Simon Says Stamp Wednesday” It’s Hip to be Square” Challenge! Awesome details and design! Super work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

