Sunday Sample: Big Sister Shaker Card

Hi, thanks for stopping by.  I appreciate it!

I thought I would get another card posted the past week, but I have been so busy making cards that it didn’t happen.  And here it is Sunday again.  This is the card I told you about in my last post that I made for our niece’s little girl, Lorelai, who is three years old.  She is now a big sister to Izzy, our new great-niece.  Their family dog is a wonderful West Highland White Terrier.  So I knew Lorelai would love carrying this card around and shaking it.  I made it durable for little hands to shake, shake, shake!

to-lorelai On the inside of the card, I wrote,   You’re a Big Sister!

The directions are pretty simple today.  The card base is an A2 size, which makes a 5 1/2  x  4 1/4 inch card.  I used my favorite, 110# Neenah Solar White cardstock.  I ran a die through the Cuttlebug to cut out a round balloon from the Simon Says Stamp Balloon Die Set on a piece of random decorative paper I found in my stash.  I thought the swirls went well with the balloon.  Since this paper was flimsy, I cut out an identical balloon on white cardstock to tape it to the back for support.  These two were taped together with Scrapbook Adhesive E-Z Runner Tape, making sure that the area all the way around the balloon was taped together. 

The terrier is from Top Dog Dies, which I think is a company no longer in business.  At least I can no longer find them online.  I used pieces of Tim Holtz Sizzix HOLIDAY WORDS Dies to cut out the words YAY!    

To make the shaker, two acrylic squares a little larger than the balloon were cut out.  Using Scotch Tape, while holding the acrylic squares together, I taped the bottom and sides of the squares.  After filling it with seed beads and sequins, I taped up the top of the acrylic squares.  Laying the shaker on the card base in the correct position for the balloon, I taped down all four sides of the shaker square to the card base.  To support the bulk the package of sequins made, I used Scotch Foam Tape between the card base and decorative paper card front. 

I taped down the dog with the E-Z Runner Tape and glued the word YAY! on with Liquitex Matte Gel Medium.  A piece of Doodlebug Twine was tied in a bow and adhered with a small Zot Clear Adhesive Dot.  I used EK Success CUTTER BEE Scissors to carefully cut a small slit along the dog’s mouth.  The liquid blue was used to hold the piece of twine in her mouth.

I thought this card turned out so cute.  I wish you could see it and hear it in person.  The white is so bright and pops on the pastel colors.  The sound of the shaker is loud and crackly. What do you think?  Please LEAVE A COMMENT at the top of the page under the title and please let me know if you like this post by pressing  the LIKE BUTTON at the bottom of the page.  Come back and see me.  🙂

Have a blessed day,

Tricia Ann

CHALLENGE ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Think Pink http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/ 

One thought on “Sunday Sample: Big Sister Shaker Card

Leave a Reply

