Sunday Sample: Church Critters

Dear Card Makers,

Oh, my word!  It’s been two weeks since I’ve blogged on here!  I have been so taken up with being on the Design Team with Strawberry Jude Stamps that I haven’t had time to work on my own blog.  I hope to do better now, since I’ve had the time to learn what is expected. 

I have a card for you today created with Strawberry Jude Stamps Carol of the Critters.  I call it, “Church Critters.”  I’ll put a link at the bottom where you can purchase these stamps.  You can also find them in Simon Says Stamp shop.

church-critters

I didn’t have a window stamp or die, so I made my own window.  I will show you how I did it.

1.png

I made a pattern for the window by cutting a       5 1/2  x  3 1/2 inch rectangle and rounding off the top. I then traced the window onto Strathmore Bristol paper.

 

 

I drew half an oval in the center at the bottom of the window.  Using a sewing gauge, I drew rays coming up from the oval.       

   2          3.png

 Using a protractor I sectioned off the beams in irregular portions. There was no use to go all the way down, since the critters and the floor would hide the bottom part.

4.png I colored with Zig Clean Color Real Brush Markers in yellow, carmine red, Persian blue, green, deep violet.   

Checking how far down I needed to color the window panes. 5

To try to make the window panes look like stained glass, I used a 2B pencil to draw in squiggly lines. A Faber-Castell PITT Artist Pen in Bold was used to accentuate the panes. 6.png Then I decorated the window frame with a Sanford Uni-ball Gel Impact Gold Pen.  See the stickies at the bottom?  At first I put vellum over the colored window, so I attached the vellum at the bottom.  I decided I liked it better without vellum, especially if I added Glossy Accents.

7.png

 

Glossy Accents was applied to the window panes. I also used this on the lamp window panes. Zig markers used on the squirrel – oatmeal, gray tint, light pink, emerald green, green, cobalt blue, light blue, light pink. The rabbit – blue gray, light pink, dull blue, light violet, gray, gray brown. Faces were brightened with Sakura Black Glaze Pen.

If you have any questions, I would love to answer them.  I’ve tried to make this shorter than I normally write my blogs.  I know that leaves out some details.  LEAVE A COMMENT, found at the top of the page under the blog title.  If you like my card, it would make my day if you pressed the LIKE BUTTON.  When you click on LEAVE A COMMENT at the top of the page, there is a LIKE BUTTON just up above the COMMENT BOX.  Thanks so much!  This has been a Happy Card Making Day.  And what better day to present the Church Critters card than on the Lord’s Day?

Smiles always,

Trish

LINK

Carol of the Critters Stamps – http://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/holiday

CHALLENGE ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Christmas Critters http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

One thought on “Sunday Sample: Church Critters

Leave a Reply

