Sunday Sample: Mouse Song

Hello Fellow Lovers of Pretty Paper,

I have another Strawberry Jude Stamps sample for you today from their new Christmas set called Carol of the Critters.  I especially had fun making this card because I got around to using my pretty plaid paper from Lawn Fawn.  I think this is the best work I’ve done on the little mouse in the set. 

untitled

This was an easy card to make, but it took a long time to put together with all the pieces to cut out and glue down.  The mouse is stacked layers to make it the focal point and give it dimension.   NOTE*  YOU MUST STAMP THE MOUSE 6 TIMES AND CUT IT OUT 5 TIMES!  This, of course, does not have to be done if you want your mouse to lie flat on the cardstock.  We’d better get started on this 5 x 5 inch card.

 

PREPARE THE BACKGROUND

34

 

  • Paper Trimmer
  • Lawn Fawn Perfectly Plaid Christmas 6×6 Paper Pack, trimmed to 5 x 5 inches.
  • Lawn Fawn Polka in the Dark 6×6 Paper Pack, trimmed to 5 x 2-3/4 inches. 
  • Simon Says Stamp Cardstock, Lipstick Red  – Cut two, 5 x 1 inches
  • 110# Neenah Solar White Cardstock, trimmed to 10 x 5 inches for card base
  • Martha Stewart Score Board and Bone Folder to fold card base in half, making a 5 x 5 inch card.

Using the two Lipstick Red cardstock strips, run each through the Cuttlebug using the die to make a faux stitched impression.

  • Cuttlebug Die-Cut & Emboss Machine Provo Craft
  • My Favorite Things Die-namics Basics Stitch Lines

With the paper trimmer, trim both strips to be the same width with the faux stitch running down the center.  My strips ended up being a smidge over 1/4 inch wide each.

 

PREPARE THE FOCAL POINT

Using what you have, cut an oval out of the Lipstick Red cardstock.  My oval is 3-7/8 x 3 inches.

  • Creative Memory Custom Cutting System, Ovals
  • Creative Memories Self-Healing Cutting Mat

You want to use the same color white cardstock as the card base, but it doesn’t need to be as thick.  So use Neenah white in a lighter weight.

  • MISTI (Most Incredible Stamping Tool Invented) or an Acrylic Block 
  • Strawberry Jude Stamps Tag It: Christmas
  • 80# Neenah Solar White Cardstock
  • Simon Says Stamp Cardstock Ink Pad, Fern

Next stamp the cute little mouse in the center of the stamped oval (mouse #1).  Then stamp the mouse again on a scrap piece of Bristol paper (mouse #2).  The mouse on the Bristol paper will be colored with Zig Real Brush Markers.  Bristol is the recommended paper for using Zig Markers.   

  • Tsukineko VersaFine Onyx Black Ink Pad
  • a scrap of Strathmore Bristol Paper

Give these images a few minutes to dry since VersaFine is a pigment ink and stays on top of the paper for a while.  Then color the mouse on the Bristol paper.  The only thing that needs to be colored on the mouse in the oval is the tail.  The rest of it will be covered with mice glued on top of it.

Now here comes the multi-stamping and fussy cutting with scissors.  Color the mouse on the Bristol paper and cut it out with scissors.

  • Zig Clean Color Real Brush Marker, Light Gray
  • Zig Clean Color Real Brush Marker, Light Pink
  • EK Success CUTTER BEE Scissors

Stamp the mouse again on the patterned paper (mouse #3) and fussy cut it.  You only need cutouts of the snowsuit.  The rest can be discarded.  Color the mouse paws.

  • Lawn Fawn Polka in the Dark 6×6 Paper Pack, red with white polka dots
  • Tsukineko VersaFine Onyx Black Ink Pad
  • Zig Clean Color Real Brush Marker, Green (to color mouse paws and buttons)

Next, stamp and cut out the mouse’s neck scarf (mouse #4).  The rest can be discarded.  This is not pictured. 

  • Lawn Fawn Polka in the Dark 6×6 Paper Pack, green with white polka dots

Now this next step looks like unnecessary detail, but to me it was worth the effort.  If you want this to go faster, just skip this step and color the songbook in the mouse’s paws on the dotted red paper, like I did its paws.  Otherwise stamp the mouse again and cut out the songbook (mouse #5).  Discard the rest of the image. 

  • Simon Says Stamp Cardstock, Island Blue

 

You need one more layer to give this mouse some depth.  Stamp the mouse one last time on fun foam (mouse #6).  I got mine at Michael’s.

  • fun foam

Cut the fun foam on the inside of the image so it will be smaller than the mouse on top and not be exposed.

Set all these pieces aside and work on the embellishments.

 

PREPARE THE EMBELLISHMENTS

Here I show die cutting three snowflakes of different sizes.  I changed my mind because the two larger snowflakes were too big.  So I later die cut three small snowflakes.  You will want the snowflakes and tag to be the same color white cardstock as what has been used previously.

  • Cuttlebug
  •  80# Neenah Solar White Cardstock
  • Simon Says Stamp Ashlynn Snowflake, cut 3
  • Post-It Tape to hold it in place

It is now time to prepare the sentiment tag.  Stamp it, then die cut it.  Then cut a rectangle out of the green polka dotted paper to show a border around the sentiment.

  • 80# Neenah Solar White Cardstock
  • MISTI
  • Simon Says Stamp Cardstock Ink Pad, Fern
  • Strawberry Jude Stamps Tag It: Christmas
  • Cuttlebug
  • Lawn Fawn Scalloped Rectangle Die
  • Post-It Tape
  • Lawn Fawn Polka in the Dark green with white polka dots

I wanted music notes coming out from my mouse.  The only music die I have has snowflakes on it, which would have been nice on this card, but I didn’t have room.  I had to cut off the snowflakes.  I made this 2 layers so it would have dimension.  I forgot to photograph this step.

  • foam fun, cut one
  • Lawn Fawn Polka in the Dark, red with white polka dots, cut one
  • Cuttlebug
  • Simon Says Stamp Jingle Snowflake

 

ASSEMBLE THE CARD AND DO SOME ENGINEERING

To adhere large pieces of paper, I used glue tape.  To adhere small pieces, I used liquid glue.  After I glued items together, I covered them with a large acrylic block to press them together well.  I like to lay something heavy on top of the acrylic block in order to get a good bond.

  • Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape
  • Ranger Multi Medium Matte Glue

I glued the mouse in its layers, ending with its clothes being glued on top.  When the mouse was dry, I traced the mouse in its winter clothing with a black pen so the lines would show better.  I also went around the outside edges of the mouse with a black marker.  I finished by adding a black glaze to its eyes, nose and mouth.

 

  •  Faber-Castell India Ink, Black, Small – Trace the lines on the mouse.
  • Faber-Castell India Ink, Black, Bold – Go around the outside edges of the mouse.
  • Sakura Black Glaze Pen – Apply to eyes, nose and mouth.

Now it’s time for the engineering part.  Dread!  Okay, don’t worry, I’m not very good at it, so the dread part is explaining what I did.  Ha!  I photographed the pieces so you could see, but it is hard to make out the straight edges of the red cardstock.

Die cut another red oval the same size as the first red oval, 3-7/8 x 3 inches.  Lay an oval over the green bar of the card and decide when you want it to be adhered.  Because the green cardstock and red cardstock are there, the oval needs to be supported on the top and bottom ends that are not resting on the green and red strips. 

14.pngCut a straight line across the top and bottom of one oval.  Glue the top portion of the oval to the back of the oval that will show on the front of the card.  Glue the bottom portion on as well.

If you can make it out, you will see that the top and bottom parts of the cut oval have been glued to the whole oval.  The rest of the oval can be put in your scrap cardstock stash.  It is not needed here.  

17

The embellishments can now be glued to the card front.  Glue the fun foam music notes to the back of the patterned paper music notes.  Glue it coming out from the mouse’s mouth.  Lay a block on it to adhere.

Add the sentiment to the top right with the bottom left edge tucked under the oval.  It’s always good to “ground” your image with something to stand on.  Here I’ve made a shadow with the same gray Zig marker that I used on the mouse.  After that, glue on the snowflakes.  To give them a finished look, add red dots.  Even though the dots are self-stick, I always add a small spot of glue to make sure they don’t fall off.

  • Zig Clean Color Real Brush Marker, Light Gray
  • My Mind’s Eye Enamel Dots, Jubilee

mousie.png

There!  It’s cute.  I like it!  Do you?  Do you think it’s too much work for one little card?  I agree that it IS INDEED a lot of to-do.  However, it’s not just the final product that I’m going for.  I enjoyed the journey of getting to the final product.  Starting from scratch and putting something together that fits.  It’s therapeutic for me.  Plus I love the pretty colors.  It makes me happy!

If you like this card, please click on the LIKE BUTTON at the bottom of the page.  I would enjoy hearing your thoughts on it, too.  The LEAVE A COMMENT area is at the top of the page under the title.  If you ever make a card similar to this, please notify me so I can see it.  Meanwhile, whatever style of card or other project you are making…….

Make it yours!

Trish

CHALLENGE ENTERED

Word Art Wednesday Challenge Weeks #254-255 – Anything Goes

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sample: Mouse Song

Leave a Reply

