Sunday Sample: Layering Cookie Stamps

Hello Stampers,

Today I want to show you one of the stamp sets just released by Strawberry Jude Stamps.  This stamp set, Cookie Layers, has three different ways to create cookies.  Six colors of ink are stamped to make each cookie, using six different stamp layers.  The link where you can find these stamps is at the bottom of this page.  A cool variation of this stamp set is that you can make other kinds of cookies besides chocolate chip.  To do so, just stop stamping cookie layers when you get the type of cookie you want, such as a sugar cookie or a ginger snap.  I wish I had thought of making such a sample to show you, but I didn’t at the time.  Maybe later.   

99cc54_30fe5c1700e04d039ef45fcefc34eacamv2  

I made a card for each chocolate chip cookie version.  Take a look.  Here’s the first one.

cookies-marked

The inks I used for layering the cookies were

  1. Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad, Antique Linen
  2. Colorbox Ink Pad, Dune
  3. Colorbox Ink Pad, Raw Silk
  4. Colorbox Ink Pad, Chestnut Roan
  5. Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad, Gathered Twigs
  6. Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad, Walnut Stain

These cookies look so real, don’t they?  I used #110 Neenah Solar White Cardstock for the tag.  On the tag, I stamped a chocolate chip cookie.  Then using Inkadinkadoo Stamping Mask Paper, I stamped the bottom cookie layer two times to make two masks.  After cutting the masks out with scissors, I covered the chocolate chip cookie and stamped a chocolate chip cookie to the right in the same manner.  Next, covering the second chocolate chip cookie with the cookie mask, I stamped the third cookie that is behind the other cookies. 

The sentiments are from Strawberry Jude Stamps Tag It:  Christmas.  The poinsettias are from Strawberry Jude Stamps Don’t Forget Christmas.  You’ll find the links below.

Now for the second version of the cookie layers.

cookie-sjs-marked

The background of this card is from Bo Bunny Believe Collection 6×6 paper pad.  The foreground (or table) is a piece of watercolor paper sprayed with various colors of Heidi Swapp Color Shine and set aside to dry.

I found a clipart picture of an uncolored cookie jar online and printed it on watercolor paper.  I blended ink from my Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad, Scattered Straw with a Ranger Mini-Blender.  The word COOKIES was from the Strawberry Jude Stamps Cookie Layers, cut apart from the sentiment Cookies for Santa, and stamped with Versafine Tuxedo Black Ink.  I outlined the cookie jar with a black marker.   

The sentiment on the background was printed from the computer in black ink.

The cookie with a bite out was stamped on 110# Neenah White Cardstock, then cut out and glued onto the card front.  The cookie crumbs were tiny pieces cut from a discarded cookie I was throwing away after practicing the layering stamps. 

Here’s the third type of cookie in the cookie layering set.

christmas-party-sjs-marked

I started out by using the MISTI stamping tool to stamp out individual cookies on 110# Neenah White Cardstock, then I cut them out.  If you’re brave, ha, you can stamp right on the background cardstock and mask off the cookies as you stamp cookies one on top of the other.  I wasn’t that brave, so I glued my cookies one-by-one in stacks on the background, after I blended Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Scattered Straw onto a piece of 5×5 inch watercolor paper with a mini-blending tool.  A piece of pattern paper was used to play the part of the red tablecloth. 

The tree and holly are felt cutouts from Hero Arts.  The string of lights across the top, the poinsettias on the cookie tray and the peppermint candies are stamps in the Strawberry Jude Stamps Don’t Forget Christmas.  The banner at the top of the card was cut out with a die from Our Daily Bread Designs with a Cuttlebug Die Cutting Machine.  I colored the banner with a Zig Red Real Brush Marker, and I hand-lettered the sentiment.  The lights were colored with Zig markers and Glossy Accents make the bulbs look like glass.  Nuvo Crystal Drops in Red Berry and Silver Moondust were used to give the card interest and bling.

Now, just for fun, and because I had the idea, I made one more cookie card to give to someone who needs a pat on the back for a nice achievement.  This card was simple to make because I used stickers.

smart-cookie-sjs-marked

My sentiment was printed off the computer.  This is a standard A2 card.  The top panel is 5 x 3.75 inches of 80# Neenah White Cardstock.  The piece of red cardstock behind it is 5.25 x 4 inches.  The folded card is 110# Neenah White Cardstock and measures 5.5 x 4.25 inches.  I’ve had the stickers a long time.  I purchased them at a local scrapbooking store, which most of us know is practically a thing of the past, sad to say. 

There you have it, my samples of the three versions of cookies in the Strawberry Jude Cookie Layers stamp set.  This really is an outstanding stamp set.  I hope you give it a try.  Thanks for stopping by and having a look.

Trish 

LINKS

Strawberry Jude Stamps Cookie Layers  http://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/1fbf2fa2-af43-b8b8-9591-fd3771fa5dd9

Strawberry Jude Stamps Tag It:  Christmas  http://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/6cb8bba2-7ada-ccce-b81f-3ffeb8d97ffb

Strawberry Jude Stamps Don’t Forget Christmas http://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/f5dab827-ed4f-872e-da55-b1541541138f

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Christmas Gifts  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Gift It  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

One thought on “Sunday Sample: Layering Cookie Stamps

  1. onecraftystamper says:

    Kassidy, I have to say your stamped cookies look as delicious as the real ones!! Beautiful tag to go with a cookie gift, love it! I am glad you’ve joined us this week in our challenge at Simon Says Stamp Monday challenge blog! hugs, Maura

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

