Sunday Sample: Winter Birthday

Happy Sunday,

Our best friends visited us from Florida between Christmas and New Year’s.  In Florida they live in a housing development.  We live in a woodsy area in Georgia.  Patz was fascinated by the variety of birds in our yard , so she spent enjoyable times birdwatching from our kitchen windows.  Patz’ birthday is tomorrow, so I decided to make her a Winter Birthday card with a bird, or should I call it a Winter Bird Day card?

1-marked

The first thing I did was find a piece of paper with the colors I had in mind

  • My Mind’s Eye, Follow Your Heart / Be Amazing 6×6 paper pad

I then stamped and colored the bird with colors that came close to the colors on the patterned paper.

  • Stampendous! Fran’s Cling Rubber Stamp, Snow Bird
  • MISTI Stamping Tool
  • Ranger Archival Jet Black Ink
  • Ranger Manilla Cardstock
  • Prismacolor Colored Pencils:  Bird – true blue and white blended, orange, goldenrod,  and peach blended / Berries:  crimson red and orange blended / Branch:  sienna brown / Beak and Feet:  goldenrod / Sky:  light cerulean blue, true blue, indigo blue, white blended.

I die cut the tag around the bird image.

Using a hole punch, punch a hole in the small end of the tag.  Go around the edges of the tag and the patterned paper with

  • finger dauber
  • Ranger Archival Coffee Dye Ink

To accentuate the image, I put Wink of Stella on the bird.

  • Zig’s Clear Wink of Stella.

Then I put snow on the tag with a stencil.  I used a toothpick to apply snow to the branches

  • Simon Says Stamp Stencil, Falling Snow
  • palette knife
  • Aleene’s Glitter Snow
  • toothpick 

I gave the berries some gloss.

  • Glossy Accents

This was set aside to dry while I prepared the card base and background.

  • 110# Neenah Solar White Cardstock, cut to 10 x 7 inches and folded in half to make a  5 x 7 inch card
  • 65# Recollections Cream-Colored Cardstock, trimmed to 5 x 7 inches

2-marked

To adhere the cream-colored cardstock to the card stamp and the patterned paper to that, I used

  • Scrapbook E-Z Runner Permanent Adhesive

Ribbon from my stash was threaded through the hole on the tag, knotted off and trimmed.

Next, to adhere the tag to the card front, I used

  • Scotch Foam Tape

In order to put a sentiment on my card front, I needed to die cut a word, since a stamped word wouldn’t show up very well on the patterned paper.  I cut three Celebrate words to glue together to give the word dimension, since the tag was mounted onto the card front with foam tape.

  • Cuttlebug Embossing and Die Cutting Machine
  • 80# Neenah Solar White Cardstock
  • Sizzix Tim Holtz Celebration Words Thinlits Dies – CUT 3 Stack these, one on top of the other, and glue them together.
  • Ranger Multi Medium Matte Glue

 

Last of all, to give the card a little more attraction, I used the glue to adhere sequins.

  • Simon Says Stamp Sequins, Crystal Reflections

 

I love making cards with birds on them.  Here’s a few more bird cards I’ve created.

I find myself making cards with birds in the spring.  It was fun making a bird in the snow.  Why don’t you give it a try?  It was a beautiful sight to see the birds out feeding certain times of the day last week when we had our first snow on the ground.  I sent Patz photos and videos of the Cardinals, Carolina Chickadees, Baltimore Orioles, Bluebirds, Wrens and I’m pretty sure I saw a Red-Headed Woodpecker!  Her little granddaughter was thrilled to see the photos I sent.  Then there’s THIS week.  We’ve had 74 degree weather!  We seldom get snow here.  I hope it snows again so I can do winter bird watching.  🙂

Have fun with art in your surroundings,

Trish

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Chill Out  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Winter Birthday http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Anything Goes – Challenge Weeks #264-265  http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/

SSSFKR     LC13

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sample: Winter Birthday

  1. Cathie C. says:

    Your friend will love this beautiful birthday card! The sweet bird is colored perfectly and I love how you put snow on the berries and branch. It really brings the image to life. Thanks for joining us on the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge.

    Cathie ♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

