Sunday Sample: Multiple Layers

img_7553

Hello all,

I’ve been in the mood lately to make cards with many layers.  This is particularly sensible to do if you are going to hand someone your card or attach it to a gift.  It is not as sensible to add many layers if you are going to mail the card, since it will up your postage cost.  Here are step-by-step photographs to follow.

  1.  Make a wide stroke of ink down the left side of a 5.5 x 4.25 inch piece of Ranger Watercolor Paper using a wide flat brush, water and Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Picked Raspberry.  First, smoosh some ink on a Ranger Craft Sheet.  Squeeze water out of the brush and pick up some ink.  Swipe it down the card.  I had to repeat the process to get the intensity of the color I wanted. 

img_7514

2.  Next cut a strip of patterned paper and glue it to the paper.  I used a piece from Bo Bunny Believe Collection 6 x 6 inch Paper Pad, adhered with Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape.  Then I used the MISTI Stamping Tool to stamp flowers from a stamp set designed by  Strawberry Jude Stamps called Couple’s Sentiments.  I love these poises.  Small pieces of Scotch Post-It Tape were used to mask overlapping images while stamping.  The ink pads I used were Simon Says Stamp Doll Pink, Maliblue, Dandelion and Apple Green.

img_7515

3.  Using the same Strawberry Jude Stamps set and a VersaFine Onyx Black Ink Pad, stamp flourishes on a piece of vellum.  I bought my vellum from Michael’s Arts and Crafts store.

img_7516

4.  Attach the vellum to the watercolor paper with Tombow Mono Dot Adhesive The E-Z runner tape shows through the vellum.

img_7517

5.  As you can see, some of my black ink smeared.  That’s okay, since it won’t be noticeable with additional layers.  Tear off a strip of Doodlebug Washi Tape and stick it near the bottom of the panel.

img_7518

6.  Also tear off a piece of Tim Holtz Tissue Tape and stick it over the top of the paper strip.  Then add a plain strip of vellum, again using the Tombow adhesive.

img_7519

7.  Using the black ink pad, stamp the largest flower.  Later, I wasn’t satisfied with this. because the ink faded into the vellum.  THIS STEP CAN BE SKIPPED.

  img_7520

8.  Using a Cuttlebug Die Cutting Machine, dies and 80# Neenah Solar White Cardstock, die cut the flourish and flowers.  Before I die cut, I attached Stick-It to the cardstock, so I could peel it off after die cutting.  The dies I used are Simon Says Stamp Calliope Flourish (flowers only), Wplus9 Bountiful Blooms (flowers only), My Favorite Things Die-namics Formal Flourish .

img_7521

9.  Here you have it.

img_7522

10.  Next I die cut the word BIRTHDAY from a Simon Says Stamp Happy Birthday Die Set using Simon Says Stamp Black 100# Cardstock.  This, too, was adhered with Stick-It.  I stamped the word HAPPY using the Happy Anniversary Sentiment in the same Strawberry Jude Stamps set and the Versa fine Black Ink Pad.

img_7523

11.  By this time the black flower ink had absorbed into the vellum, so I decided to stamp the flower again on 110# Neenah Solar White Cardstock.  I used scissors to cut it out and adhered it with the E-Z runner tape. 

12.  This front panel was then trimmed down to 5.25 x 4 inches.  I cut out a piece of 65# Recollections Black Cardstock the size of 5.5 x 4.25 inches.  The card base is made from 110# Neenah Solar White Cardstock, cut to 8.5 x 5.5 inches and folded in the middle to make an A2 size card.  The layers were adhered with E-Z runner tape. 

img_7552

13.  To brighten the card a little more, I went over the flourish and white flowers with my Uni-ball Signo White Gel PenNuvo Crystal Glitter Drops, Pink Champagne were dropped in the centers of the white flowers.  Nuvo Crystal Drops, Ebony were placed randomly on the panel.  I also went over the word BIRTHDAY, the large white flower and the black flower with Glossy Accents

You should take a look at the Strawberry Jude Stamps Couple’s Sentiments Stamp Set.  It is indeed a beautiful set.

99cc54_e0017c6122d14c83a69d6244aaea541emv2_d_2674_1910_s_2

Here’s to multiple layers!  For me, it’s so much fun to do.  If you’ve never tried it, give it a go.  You might not know you like this technique unless you try it.  Please be here next time to see what’s coming together on my craft table. 

Thanks a lot,

Trish

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Anything Goes  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge Weeks #270-271 – Anything Goes   http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Make Your Own Background  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sample: Multiple Layers

  1. lorraine says:

    Gorgeous card Trish, the whole design of this is stunning! I love how you layered an the elements, absolutely fabulous 😍❤

    Thanks for joining us on the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
    Luv
    Lols x x x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Andrea Ockey Parr says:

    I am always a fan of layering and you’ve combined so many fun eclectic elements here! I love the pops of color and the different patterns that mix together. It is vibrant and fresh and makes me smile! Thank you so much for sharing such a delightful creation with us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

