The Daily Marker 30 Day Coloring Challenge March 1 – 30, 2017

Are you participating in the seventh Daily Marker 30 Day Coloring Challenge held by Kathy Racoosin?  She encourages you to do something creative every day, like coloring, knitting, cutting something out, finishing a card – even if it’s just 5 or 10 minutes that you can spare.  Of course it is rarely 10 minutes for me, but I am retired and have few responsibilities these days.  When I worked, it would be rare if I was able to sit down and make a completed card one evening after work.  Or maybe I could.  I didn’t make cards back then.  However, after our daughter got married, I completed a beautiful wedding album with all the embellishments for her dad and me.  For one thing, we didn’t have any kids at home after that, so I had more time to myself.  So whatever YOUR circumstance is, it is a scientific fact that coloring, or doing some type of creative task that you enjoy, can lower your blood pressure and alleviate stress. 

Click on the photo to link to Kathy’s blog for information on the challenge. 

challenge_graphic-mar16_plain-650-1-180x180

There are blog hops and giveaways along the way of the challenge.  There are no requirements and you don’t even have to participate every day.  When I participated in the first challenge in March 2015, it got me in the habit of crafting a little or a lot every day.  I actually wasn’t even considering participating in this challenge, but the girls on the design team at Strawberry Jude Stamps decided that they wanted the team to participate.  So I started the challenge with Strawberry Jude on Wednesday, March 1, with the Strawberry Jude watermark on my card.  My  term was up with the company on Friday ,so I had to drop the Strawberry Jude watermark and use my own watermark.

This month I will add to this blog page as I take part in the 30 day challenge.  A crafter has three ways to show his/her creations to Kathy at The Daily Marker.  (S)he can upload them on Kathy’s website, on her Facebook page, or on Instagram.  When uploading a photo, choose only one place to send itDon’t send the same photo 2 or 3 times.  However, if you send your card by Instagram, you can choose to put it on her blogsite the next day, or even on her Facebook wall.  Kathy said she doesn’t do Facebook much, and she prefers the photos being loaded to Instagram.  She said she can walk on her treadmill, see the photos on Instagram and comment easier than she can when the photos are on her website or on Facebook. 

You can get more information on Kathy’s website and on her videos.  She is an expert at coloring.  I enjoy watching her on YouTube.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VIP4TfruOG0

Now for my participation in The Daily Marker 30 day challenge.  If you have a question about any sample, just leave a comment please.

Thanks a lot for looking,

Tricia  🙂  

__________________________________________________

Day 30

This is the last day of the challenge.  I did it!  Every day!  Woohoo!  Phew!  That was a lot of work, but I enjoyed it to the utmost.  To finish up the challenge I started with the gals at Strawberry Jude Stamps, I used only their stamps to make my Day 30 card.  The background was done by embossing silver wobbly lines I drew myself with a Versafine Clear Marker.  Then I painted the spaces with Tim Holtz Distress Inks.  This was fun.

Day 30 SJS watermark

Strawberry Jude Stamps Berry Birthday   

https://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/stamps?lightbox=dataItem-ivnyrz8n1  The treats around the perimeter are taken from several stamp sets from Strawberry Jude.  The size of this card is a 5 1/2″ square.

__________________________________________________

Day 29

Day 29 SJS

Strawberry Jude Stamps Don’t Forget to Workout  https://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/don-t-forget-to-workout

__________________________________________________

Day 28

This one’s for Strawberry Jude Stamps as you can tell by the watermark on the photo.  The squirrel on the right is how the stamped image looks.  The squirrel on the left is a mirror image.  I did the mirror image by stamping the squirrel in Versamark Clear Ink on a piece of acrylic and carefully pressing down on the ink links onto a piece of Bristol paper.  I then sprinkled gold embossing powder on the Bristol paper and melted it with a heat gun. 

Day 28 SJS watermark

Strawberry Jude Stamps Squirrel Mail   https://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/squirrel-mail .  The word LOVE was made with a die from Simon Says Stamp https://www.simonsaysstamp.com/product/RESERVE-Simon-Says-Stamp-SMALL-LOVE-YOU-Craft-Dies-SSSD111324-63646?currency=USD   The rest of the sentiment is from Strawberr y Jude.  https://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/love-is-in-the-air

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Hip Hop   http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Spring Color Challenge  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge #278-279 – Anything Goes  http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/

__________________________________________________

Day 26 and 27:  Ready for This Week with My Weekly Planner

x4FBINS

8.5” x 11”
pages, The Happy Planner                https://shop.meandmybigideas.com/collections/the-big-happy-planner-collection/products/2017-2018-big-happy-planner-live-loud

Strawberry Jude Stamps  https://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/

__________________________________________________

Day 25

Here’s the Distress Oxides again, this time in Worn Lipstick and Peeled Paint.  NEWS FLASH!!!  You can dry emboss on top of distress oxide inks!  Because the oxides are part pigment inks, they stay wet long enough for you to have time to sprinkle embossing powder on them.  Here I used clear embossing powder, then heated it with my heat gun.

Day 25A

On this day, Jeanette from Strawberry Jude Stamps wanted us to make samples from the planner stamp set, Don’t Forget Christmas.  I used a Candy Stripes stencil from Echo Park.  The cups were cut out with dies from Hero Arts.  The small decorations on the cups are from Strawberry Jude Stamps Don’t Forget Christmas.  The big holly and sentiments are from SJS Tag It: ChristmasGlossy Accents was applied to the straws and big holly.  Accents were applied with a fine black pen, Signo White Get Pen and Uni-ball Silver Gel Impact Pen.  I used Tim Holtz Distress Markers in Worn Lipstick and Peeled Paint to make sprinkles on the whipped cream.  The gray shadows were made with a Zig Real Brush Marker in Gray Tint.

__________________________________________________

Day 24

Here’s the Tim Holtz new Distress Oxide Inks again.  This time I used Broken China and Wilted Violet.  The colors are brilliant and beautiful.

Day 24C SJS marked

This card is a one-layer card that has a split front panel.  The right panel is adhered, so it doesn’t open.  The chair is from Strawberry Jude Stamps set, Note It: Conference.  The other images are from different SJS planner sets.  The images were colored with Prisma Color Colored Pencils.  The Get Well Soon sentiment was made with a Cricut Create machine.  I outlined the images with a fine black marker and accented here and there with a Signo White Gel Pen.

Day 24D SJS marked

__________________________________________________

Day 23

  Copic Coloring and Paper Piecing

Day 23 SJS watermarked

For this day of the 30 day color challenge, Jeanette at Strawberry Jude Stamps wanted us to do samples from the planner stamp set entitled, Don’t Forget Fall.

__________________________________________________

Day 22

  Coloring with Zig Markers 

Day 22 SJS watermarked

House stamp from Strawberry Jude Stamps set Visit/Teach.  Trees are from All Creatures Great and Small, except the pine tree stamp is from Don’t Forget Christmas planner stamp set.

__________________________________________________

Day 21

  More Copic Marker Practice

I got my first two violet Copic Markers, just in time for spring, so I had to give them a try.  I like them, so I bought one more violet hue to coordinate with these two.

21

Stamp from Strawberry Jude Stamps set Visit/Teach

__________________________________________________

Day 20

Copic Marker Practice

20

Stamp from Strawberry Jude Stamps set Visit/Teach

__________________________________________________

Day 19

My Wish for You

Day 19 my watermark 2

Tim Holtz Distress Oxides Inks on Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock; silver Stickles around the perimeter and on the ornaments; silver embossing powder on the sentiment; silver thread

__________________________________________________

Day 18

Christmas in Florida – my second home, sweet home

Day 18 My Watermark

Newton’s Nook Sun Soaked Christmas Stamp Set colored with Prisma Color Colored Pencils; Kraft paper background sprinkled with Tim Holtz Distress Oxide Inks mixed with water; sentiments are dry embossed with Hero Arts White Embossing Powder.

__________________________________________________

Day 17

Organizing My Ink Pads

Day 17

__________________________________________________

Day 16

Thank You Card to Teacher OR make a set of these and give them to the teacher as a gift.  Teachers need thank you cards, too.

Day 16D my watermark

Strawberry Jude Stamps Don’t Forget School: Icons

__________________________________________________

Day 15

  Thank You Card

Day 15 F my watermark medium

Strawberry Jude Stamps Don’t Forget to Clean Planner Stamps; Tim Holtz Distress Oxide Inks

__________________________________________________

Day 14

  I’m trying to make one Christmas card a week so I’ll have 50 cards by mid-December.

Day 14 my Watermark

Sunny Studio Stamps Merry Sentiments Stamps and Dies; Holiday Style Stamps and Dies 

__________________________________________________

Day 13

Postcard in Outgoing Mail

13

Simon Says Stamp Brave – I think this stamp set has been discontinued.

__________________________________________________

Day 12

A Card for Our Teenage Granddaughter, Kassidy, our Pride and Joy

Day 12 My Watermark

The roses and parts of the sentiment are from Strawberry Jude Stamps Watercolor Roseshttps://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/watercolor-roses

Strawberry Jude Stamps Don’t Forget Lady  https://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/don-t-forget-lady

Joy is from Strawberry Jude Stamps  Tag It: Christmas  https://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/tag-it-christmas 

__________________________________________________

Day 11

  Next week’s planner spread part 2

Day 11

All of the stamps used on these two planner pages are from Strawberry Jude Stamps planner stamp sets.

__________________________________________________

Day 10

  Next week’s planner spread part 1

Day 10

__________________________________________________

Day 9

With Sympathy

Day 9 My Watermark

Strawberry Jude Stamps Couple’s Sentiments https://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/couple-s-sentiments ; sympathy sentiment is from https://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/watercolor-roses

__________________________________________________

Day 8

Looking for a Good Blend

Here I am using the ink colors I have to find a good blend for Christmas light bulbs.  I didn’t have time to do this before Christmas, so here I am, giving it a try in March.  If you have questions about ink brand names, just give me a buzz.  I started out the year with a goal of making one Christmas card each week, so I would have around 50 cards by Christmas.  I ‘ve only made one, since Strawberry Jude Stamps kept me so busy.  Now that my term is up on the Strawberry Jude Design Team, I can hopefully catch up on my Christmas cards. 

8

Sunny Studio Stamps Merry Sentiments  https://sunnystudiostamps.com/collections/christmas

  • The reds that blend better in real life are Tim Holtz Distress Ink, Barn Door with Tim Holtz Distress Ink, Candied Apple stamped over it – row 2, 2nd bulb.  No surprise since Tim’s inks were formulated to blend.
  • My favorite yellow blend is ColorBox Canary with Brilliance Sunflower Yellow stamped over it – row 2, 2nd bulb.  Coming in second is Hero Arts Dandelion with ColorBox Canary over it – row 2, 4th bulb.
  • I think the blues I have that look closest to an original old-fashioned Christmas blub are Memento Bahama Blue with Simon Says Stamp Island Blue on top of it – row 2, 1st bulb.

When I stamp the bulbs on my card, I’m going to try stamping the first layer again overtop of the second layer to see if it blends better.

__________________________________________________

Day 7

Rejoice Bookmark

Day 7 My Watermark

Simon Says Stamp Look for the Miracles Stamp Set  https://www.simonsaysstamp.com/product/Simon-Says-Clear-Stamps-LOOK-FOR-THE-MIRACLES-SSS101607-SSS101607   Sentiment from Simon Says Stamp Blessed Stamp Set   https://www.simonsaysstamp.com/product/Simon-Says-Clear-Stamps-BLESSED-SSS101370-63659

__________________________________________________

Day 6

Strawberry Wings

Day 6 My Watermark retake

Strawberry Jude Stamps – Berry Wings   https://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/berry-wings-pass-along

__________________________________________________

Day 5

Walking on Sunshine

day-5-my-watermark

Strawberry Jude Stamps – Hello Sunflower <a href=”https://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/hello-sunflower&#8221; rel=”nofollow”>www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/hello-sunflower</a>
__________________________________________________

Day 4

Birthday Smash Gift Tag

day-4-my-watermark

Lawn Fawn Year Seven Stamp Set  https://www.lawnfawn.com/products/year-seven

__________________________________________________

Day 3

BFFs

turtle-and-snake-watermarked

Strawberry Jude Stamps – Creatures Great and Small  https://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/creatures-great-and-small

__________________________________________________

Day 2

Celebration Tag

sjs-tag-watermarked

Strawberry Jude Stamps – Oh So Baroque Pastries  https://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/joy-to-the-world

__________________________________________________

Day 1

I made two cards on Day 1.  I was on a roll!

1st sample: He Is Risen

sjs-watermarked

Strawberry Jude Stamps – He Is Risen       https://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/he-is-risen

2nd sample: Peace on Earth

sjs-watermarked-lion

Strawberry Jude Stamps – He Is Risen       https://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/he-is-risen

One thought on “The Daily Marker 30 Day Coloring Challenge March 1 – 30, 2017

  1. Anna-Karin says:

    Wow, look at all those cards! You did a wonderful job with the challenge!! I love those squirrels. Thank you so much for sharing with us at the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog! Happy Easter!

    Like

Leave a Reply

