New Distress Oxide Inks and Organizing Ink Colors

Hello,

Have you seen the new Tim Holtz Distress Oxide Inks?  At first I wasn’t interested, even after watching Tim’s demo.  But after I saw Jennifer McGuire’s YouTube video, I changed my mind.  You may want to watch it to see what I mean.  Here is Jennifer’s blog about the new distress oxide inks.  From there you can watch her video.  Click on the photograph and it will link you to Jennifer’s blog.

 

So far there are twelve distress oxide inks.  You probably can’t read the names of the inks on the above picture, so I’ll name them in order, going across.

walnut stain     broken china     worn lipstick     wilted violet

fossilized amber     fired brick     faded jeans     vintage photo

cracked pistachio     spiced marmalade     peeled paint     iced spruce    

Here’s what I understand the difference between distress inks and distress oxide inks to be.  Distress inks are dye inks.  Dye inks are absorbed into the cardstock quickly.  They look somewhat transparent.  Therefore, the final color is not intense.  Distress inks were not made for stamping, but rather for techniques.    Distress oxide inks are mixtures of dye and pigment inks.  The dye is absorbed quickly into the cardstock, but the pigment in the ink causes the ink to stand on top of the cardstock.  Therefore, it takes oxide inks a while to dry.  After the oxide ink dries, you can layer another oxide ink on top of it and it will hold its color.  It won’t look like brown mud as it would with distress inks.  Distress Oxide Inks can be dried naturally or with a heat gun.  The oxides are vibrant and bright in color, especially after they have been spritzed with water.  For this reason, oxides are excellent for stamping.  This is not to say that there is no use for the original Distress Inks since the oxides have appeared.  In the art world, there is a place for both Distress and Distress Oxide Inks. 

After watching Jennifer’s video, I decided to order a few pads of oxide inks to give them a try.  I ordered five ink pads.  Now I wish I had ordered them all!  I’m impressed!  You can lay color on a piece of cardstock, as I did in the next picture.  You can blend the colors onto a piece of cardstock with a mini- blending tool.  It blends better than regular Distress Ink.  It stamps beautifully.  I LOVE the way these inks stamp!

On these swatch cards you can compare the stamping of Distress Inks on the left and Distress Oxide Inks on the right.  I don’t have regular Distress Ink for Fossilized Amber yet in my collection.

U

The five ink pads I purchased are pictured below with my first try at using them. 

15A

My first sample turned out okay, but I think I can do better.  I haven’t had time to try yet.  I used this background to make a card for Strawberry Jude Stamps.  I’m not on the design team anymore, but I sometimes make a card for them.

Day 15D SJS watermark medium

Click on the picture to be linked to Strawberry Jude Stamps to see the stamp set.

The stamp set I used for this card is Strawberry Jude Stamps Don’t Forget to Clean planner stamp set.  The stamped images were colored with Prismacolor Colored Pencils.  I used my computer and printer to type the sentiment.

I’ve found the best prices on Tim Holtz Distress Inks to be at The Funkie Junkie Boutique online store.  Right now they are sold out of some colors.  I’m keeping watch so I can order a couple more pads.

 

I wanted to catalog my new inks just as I have been doing with my other inks.  So I downloaded a color chart from Ranger and printed it out.  You can find this color chart and others at this address.  Click on the picture and it will take you there.

Day 17

I also make swatch cards of the inks I own and group them with inks in the same color family.  I got this idea from Jennifer McGuire.  When you are looking for a specific color needed to make a card, it’s easier looking at the different hues in the color family than looking through all of your ink pads.  To find the ink swatch charts as shown on the right, please go to Jennifer’s blog.  Scroll down until you come to INK SWATCH DOWNLOAD as seen here.

 

When I purchase more inks, I will add them to my Distress Oxide chart on the left. On the right side of the picture is one page of my ink color swatches I am cataloging.  As you can see, I have stamped my Distress Oxide Ink colors on small swatch cards.  Here I am inserting Distress Oxide Broken China into the coin pocket beside regular Distress Broken China.  I also put the other swatch cards in the pockets where they belonged among the greens, yellows, pinks and purples.  I purchased the coin pocket sleeves at amazon.com, as well as the rings to hold the coin pockets together.

w

If you are wondering why I stamped a balloon for the last swatch, it was because I got mixed up on what stamp I was using to stamp my swatch cards.  I goofed, but I didn’t want to print out another sheet of swatches, wasting paper and ink.  By the way, the paper I use to print the color chart and the swatch cards is 80# Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock.

Z

Click photo to link to product.

 

That’s as far as I’ve gotten with the Distress Oxide inks.  I hope you give them a try.  If you don’t have your ink pads organized, maybe this will give you inspiration to try it.    Meanwhile, I have a lot more experimenting, practicing and creating to do.  I’m going to enjoy this.  🙂

Bye, bye,

Tricia

To have a look at Jennifer McGuire’s second blog and video on Distress Oxide Inks, link up here.

SZ

 

2 thoughts on “New Distress Oxide Inks and Organizing Ink Colors

Leave a Reply

