Easy Peasy Card

Hi Stampers,

Let’s make this short and sweet.  Today on YouTube I ran across a card making video on a channel called Ken’s Kreations.  I’ll post the link below.  Ken said he got the idea for this card from Pinterest.  So now I’m passing it on to you.  

Note:  The gray line above the twine is a shadow.

Watermarked(2017-04-27-0111)

SUPPLIES:

  • Paper Trimmer
  • White 5.25 x 4 inch Cardstock
  • Black 5.5 x 4.25 inch Cardstock
  • White Fun Foam cut a little smaller than 5.25 x 4 inches
  • White Heavy 8.5 x 4.25 inch Cardstock, folded in half
  • Adhesive
  • Acrylic Block or MISTI (Most Incredible Stamping Tool Invented)
  • Sentiment Stamp of your choice
  • Black Ink
  • Silvery-Gray Liquid to splash on the front card panel
  • Twine
  • Washi Tape
  • Scissors
  • Scotch Tape

Using a paper trimmer, cut a piece of white cardstock to 5.25 x 4 inches.  I used 80# Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock.  Choose the sentiment you want from your stamps.  I used a Versafine Onyx Black Ink Pad to stamp Congratulations from Stampabilities.  I thought the flags looked like someone had won.  Of course, you could be celebrating a birthday, a new baby, a retirement, a new home, almost anything.  I wanted to sprinkle a silvery gray on the background but I didn’t have anything to sprinkle.  I DID have a bottle of Tsukineko Irresistible Embellishment in silverClick on the photo to go to the link. 

1_310538_THSo I shook it up and opened it for the first time.  Hmmm, it was not what I expected.  I couldn’t splash it on.  It has a needlepoint that can even be used for writing letters.  So I touched the needlepoint to each place where I wanted a dot.  This was set aside to dry.  The dots look as though they have been heat embossed.  

Then I cut 2 pieces of Recollections Twine from Michael’s that would be long enough to wrap around the sides of the front panel and taped to the back with Scotch Tape.  Before I did so, I got out my washi tape and selected patterns and colors that might go together.  I wrapped pieces of the washi tape around the twine and stuck the tape to itself, thinking about the spacing as I went.  Scissors were used to trim the tails of the washi tape.  The twine ends were then Scotch taped to the back of the front panel.

A piece of Michael’s 65# Recollections Black Cardstock was trimmed to 5.5 x 4.25 inches.  This was adhered to the back of the front panel.  I used Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape.

I wanted to give the card some height, so I cut a piece of white fun foam just a little smaller than the front panel, 5.25 x 4, to put between the black cardstock and card base.  Click on the photo to go to the link.

Here is a 9 x 12 inch white fun foam package of 12 from Simon Says Stamp.

I almost always use 110# Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock for my card base.  The E-Z Runner Tape was used to adhere the panels to the card base.

And that’s it, Easy Peasy!  I hope you enjoyed reading through the process of making this simple card and will give it a try yourself.

Have fun!

Tricia

LINK

Ken’s Kreations  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15XRWUmecTQ

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Anything Goes http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge #280-281 – Anything Goes  http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/

http://html5shim.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/html5.js

 

 

 https://www.blogger.com/static/v1/jsbin/449444907-ieretrofit.js

Leave a Reply

