Oh, Happy Day!

Hi there,

Here’s a birthday card without layers.  While I DID layer the background cardstock, the front card panel has nothing on it but ink, which is unusual for me.  I would say that this card was easy to make IF you enjoy masking the balloons, in order for more balloons to be added behind the first three balloons stamped.  It also took few tools to make this one.

9th Spiritual Birthday 2017 watermarked

CARDBASE AND BACKGROUND SUPPLIES

  • paper trimmer
  • 110# Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock (card base), cut to 4.25 x 11 inches folded in half to make a top-folding A2 size card (4.25 x 5.5 inches)
  • Martha Stewart Score Board
  • bone folder
  • Recollections 65# cardstock, a package of various Pinks, cut to 4.25 x 5.5 inches
  • Recollections 65# cardstock, Black, cut to 4 x 5.25 inches 
  • Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape – Adhere all three layers with this after the front panel is finished.

 

CARD FRONT SUPPLIES

  • paper trimmer
  • 80# Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock, cut to 3.75 X 5 inches
  • small acrylic block
  • bear – Stampendous Spring Short Stack Stamps
  • balloon – Simon Says Stamp Big Birthday Wishes Stamps
  • grass – Lawn Fawn Chirpy Chirp Chirp Stamps
  • Post-It tape
  • small heart – found in my stash
  • sentiment – Penny Black Sprinkles and Smiles
  • cloud stencil – Recollections 501854 Emoji Creative Year Planner Stamp and Stencil Set
  • Tim Holtz Distress Oxide Inks – Wilted Violet, Broken China, Worn Lipstick, Fossilized Amber, Peeled Paint, Spiced Marmalade, Vintage Photo
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink – Tumbled Glass (This is not oxide ink).
  • Mini-Blending Tool – used to color the sky
  • Hero Arts Pigment Ink, White – used to make the clouds
  • Tsukineko Sponge (finger) Dauber – used to apply ink over the cloud stencil
  • Tim Holtz Distress Markers – Antique Linen and Spun Sugar – used to color the bear
  • Prismacolor Colored Pencil, Parma Violet – used to color the dress
  • Dove Blender Pen – used to smooth out the violet pencil on the dress (optional)
  • Simon Says Stamp Ink Pad, Green Apple – used for the grass
  • Inkadinkadoo Masking Paper – Stamp 3 balloons to use to cover the balloons in front before stamping more balloons.
  • scissors
  • Gelly Roll Pen, Black – Color the eyes and nose, and cover the lines of the bear’s toes.
  • Spectrum Noir Sparkle Pen, clear – used on the balloons, hearts, dress and inside the ears
  • Uni-ball Signo White Gel Pen – used to line the orange sentiment
  • Pilot Precise V5 Rolling Ball Pen, Extra Fine – to make the balloon strings
  • ruler – to get straight lines for the strings

 

CREATING THE CARD FRONT

I think everyone knows how to assemble the card after the front card panel is finished, so I’ll talk only about the card front.

  1. Stamp the dress with Distress Oxide Wilted Violet.
  2. Using the acrylic block, stamp the head, arms and legs with Distress Oxide Vintage Photo.  Give it time to dry.  Click on the photo for the link to these stamps.
  3. 1_335254_FS
  4. Using the acrylic block, stamp the front and center balloon in Wilted Violet.  Clean the stamp and stamp another balloon in Broken China, and then another one in Worn Lipstick.
  5. Stamp the balloon 3 times on masking paper.  Cut out the balloons with scissors.  Stick these masking paper balloons over the balloons already stamped.  Now stamp the balloons using the other colors, Fossilized Amber, Peeled Paint, Spiced Marmalade.  Add as many balloons as you want.  I needed 9 balloons for a 9-year-old birthday.   Click on the photo for the link to these stamps.
  6. 1_320495_FS
  7. Stamp the sentiment.  I used the Oxide Spiced Marmalade for this.  Click on the photo for the link to these stamps.
  8. 1_320442_FS
  9. After the ink dried, I lined the word HAPPY with the white gel pen.
  10. Using the mini-blending tool, carefully and lightly blend in Tumbled Glass for the sky.  You may need a finger dauber for the hard to get to places.  Try not to get on the stamped areas.  Then go around the edge of the front card panel.
  11. Stamp the grass around the feet of the bear with Simon Says Stamp Green Apple.  The grass stamp is wider than I needed, so I masked off the part of the stamp that I didn’t need with Post-It Tape.  Click on the photo for the link to these stamps.
  12. 1_338571_FS
  13. I wanted clouds behind the balloons to give the card more interest.  You may know a better way to do this, but I ended up laying a stencil over the clear areas.  I used the white pigment ink and applied it with a finger dauber.  I couldn’t really even see the white ink I had applied, but it turned out the way I wanted it anyway.  This is a stencil that came as a freebie with an Emoji Planner Stamp Set.  This came in handy since I just received it in the mail yesterday.  Click on the stencil for the link.
  14. s-l1600          stamps
  15. Next I used a ruler and drew on the lines for the strings.  I added knots and squiggle’s to make them look more fun.
  16. Things just didn’t look complete, so I used a small heart stamp.  Since I use it frequently, I had it in a little bowl with a few other well-loved stamps.  So I don’t know who made it.  The hearts were stamped in Oxide Worn Lipstick.
  17. I applied Spectrum Noir clear sparkle to the balloons and really liked how they looked.  Mind you, they DID change the oxide inks somewhat.  I should have know better and I DID know better, but I couldn’t help myself –  I applied the Spectrum Noir to a heart right after I stamped it.  Yes, just as I figured, but I HAD TO DO IT,  the sparkle pen bleached out the heart!  So beware if you do not want this!  I didn’t know how to fix it, so I sparkled all the hearts.  In the end I love the hearts this way because they look like they are among the clouds.
  18. Then, of course, after everything was dry, I adhered all the layers together with the E-Z runner tape, my favorite.

I thought this was going to be short, but I can’t seem to write anything short.  I am too detailed and drive myself batty!  At least I tried to put in bold the main supplies and paper sizes.  That’s it for now.

Happy crafting!

Trish

CHALLENGE ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge A Hint of Pink  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge #282-283 – Anything Goes

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Little Critters http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/

 

FLKRLC#20     PSAug

 

 

3 thoughts on “Oh, Happy Day!

  1. Karen Letchworth says:

    This is awesome! Thanks so much for sharing your talents with us.
    Blessings,
    Karen Letchworth
    Word Art Wednesday

    Like

Leave a Reply

