A Tropical Christmas

Here I am again, making another tropical Christmas card with the gorgeous Birds & Berries 6 x 6 Paper Pack by Wild Rose Studio Ltd.  When I started the card, I didn’t know it was going to be a shaker card.  As things progressed, that was its destiny.  Follow the flow and things just happen.  This is a top folding card that is 5.25 x 5.25 inches.

B

 

I used the stamp set from Inkadinkado called Warmest WishesClick on the stamp set for a link.  I selected the tree and stamped it on 110# Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock with an Archival Coffee Ink Pad.  Then I colored the tree with Prismacolor Colored Pencils.

28     1

I trimmed two pieces of the Berries & Birds papers and one Recollections silver paper from Michael’s to 5.25 x 5.25 inches.

I used an oval from the Creative Memories Cutting System to cut the display windows in my papers.  I used scrap paper to practice before I cut my selected papers.

 

 

  • Tombow Mono Adhesive Permanent Tape was used to adhere the layers together.

    11

Next I cut around the shell tree with the largest oval used on this project.  I cut an oval around the tree, so it would fit nicely under the other ovals on the square papers.  Just cutting off the top of the cardstock and gluing it in that way would leave impressions of the lines when the card was finished.  

This was the point when I decided that the card was destined to be a shaker card.  I had not intended to have such a large amount of space around the tree.  But working with the tools I had, this is the way it turned out.  Go with the flow, Baby, go with the flow!

So I got out my package of Acrylic Sheets and cut a rectangle that would fit over the oval opening.  I then used the Tombow Tape Runner to adhere the acrylic sheet to the card front.

12

Now I had to decide what I wanted to use to raise the front paper, so there would be space for the sequins inside the window to be loose enough to shake.  I’ve tried different methods, and this has always been a problem for me.  The sequins stick to the sides of the foam where there is sticky adhesive.  So I thought of something to use which I’ve never seen before – mounting foam!  What is mounting foam?  When I remove a stamp from a wood block so I can stamp with it in my MISTI, I adhere the mounting foam on the back of the rubber stamp.  One side of the mounting foam is sticky.  The other side has a plastic surface so it will stick to the hinged door of the MISTI.  It is also thick, so the sequins would have plenty of room to shake around.  Click on the mounting foam for a link. 

29

The scrap paper sheet I had to practice where to position the first, largest oval was placed over the 5.25 x 5.25 inch piece of mounting foam I trimmed out for the card.  I then went around the oval opening with the Creative Memories Cutting System tools.  This didn’t cut all the way though the mounting foam, so I had to finish cutting it with scissors.

 

I peeled away the protective sheet of the sticky side and adhered the mounting foam to the back of the card front.  I did not use the washi tape shown in the following photo.  The standing tubes of washi made it handy to take a photo so you could see what I did.

16

To lessen the chance of the sequins sticking to the walls of the window where they would be sealed away, I used an Inkadinkado Magic Powder Bag to fluff around the walls of the shaker pocket.  Once the sequins are inside and shaken around, the powder won’t be noticeable. 

17

110# Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock was trimmed to 10.5 x 5.25 inches to make a card base.  This was then folded to make a top-folding card of 5.25 x 5.25 inches.

If I had known where I was going with this card when I started, I could have skipped this next step in the process.  I could have stamped my shell tree directly onto the card base front.  But I didn’t know, so after I found the proper placing for the tree oval by using my scrap paper card front, I went around the edges of the tree oval with Scotch TapeI had to be careful to place the tape ONLY on the edge of the oval, so it would not be seen through the shaker window.

18

Next I placed sequins in the shaker window by laying the card front upside down.  I forgot to take a photo of this.  😦 

I used Scrapbook E-Z Runner Adhesive around the oval and all over the square, so I get a good seal on the plastic side of the mounting foam.

19

The card base was then adhered to the card front and pressed down completely all over.

Warmest Wishes from the stamp set was as my sentiment.  Using the MISTI, I stamped a piece of the peach paper with VersaMark clear, sticky ink.

20

After sprinkling Recollections Metallic Silver Embossing Powder on the words and shaking off the loose powder, I melted the powder adhered to the sentiment with my heat gun.  The paper was then trimmed to the smallest size possible, ending with a fishtail.

After I adhered the sentiment to the card front, it needed something else.  So I cut two silver and one peach strips 1/8 inch wide.  These were glued as shown, using the Tombow Mono Adhesive Tape Runner.

To make ornaments, I used the sand dollar stamp from the set and stamped it in the MISTI with a Delicato Silvery Shimmer Ink Pad.   

23

These were trimmed out with scissors and adhered to the strips of paper.  I then covered the sand dollars with Spectrum Noir Clear Sparkle Pen to add a little shimmer.  I meant to do this to the shells on the Christmas tree, but I forgot!C

D

E

So what do you think?  Do you ever make holiday cards using nontraditional colors?  I think I will be doing this a lot this time around.  If you send a lot of Christmas cards, as I do, I encourage you to get started.  I told myself I will NEVER AGAIN cram making a slew of Christmas cards two weeks before Christmas.  It takes the joy out of card making.  Pace yourself and have fun.

Tricia Ann

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Patterned Paper  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge #288-#289 – Anything Goes  http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/

Simon Says Stamp Work It Wednesday Add Some Bling    http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/page/2/

Leave a Reply

