For My Brother

1 watermarked

Hello,

This one took me awhile, because I didn’t know what I wanted.  When in doubt, always take a look at Jennifer McGuire’s videos, and you will get an idea of what you want to try.  I am most inspired by what I have never done.  Are you?  As is the case most of the time, I don’t have the same stamps that Jennifer used in the video, so I had to use the one stamp I have that is similar to the stamps she used.  I also don’t have the pearlized paints used on Jennifer’s cards, so you know what I’m saying.  Here is the video I watched for inspiration.  Click on the photo to link you to Jennifer’s page.

040617-Partial-Emb11-Jennifer-McGuire-Ink

On Jennifer’s video, you will see the technique she used to do partial embossing.  I followed her lead.  If you watch Jennifer’s video, the directions are much clearer than what I am able to tell you.

I used VersaMark Sticky Ink to stamp Hero Arts Basic Grey Spice Market Cling Stamp on on 100# Simon Says Stamp Smoke Cardstock.  I wanted the image to be stamped off-centered.  Click on photo to link.

61bgg5cgZmL

This was sprinkled with Stampendous Clear Embossing Powder.  After shaking off the excess embossing powder, I used a small brush to brush away the powder around the focal point of the stamp.   

IMG_9356

heat gun was used to melt the powder that remained on the image.  I like the looks of this.

IMG_9357

Now it was time to color the image.  Because the image was embossed, the lines have raised edges, so it is easier to keep the colors inside the lines.  I’ve learned that Zig Clean Colors Real Brush Markers work best on watercolor paper or Bristol paper.  Since I didn’t intend to use water, I gave them a try on my Smoke cardstock.  They worked just fine and did not peel the paper.

  • No. 037 Cornflower Blue
  • No. 022 Carmine Red
  • No. 040 Green
  • No. 050 Yellow

I did not color the spaces that were not heat embossed.  After the embossed image was colored, I wanted a textured strip on the left side.  I used 100# Simon Says Stamp Blue Violet Cardstock and an embossing folder from Cuttlebug to create the strip on the Cuttlebug Embossing and Die Cut Machine

IMG_9361

To make the card a little larger, I used the Cuttlebug Embossing Machine once again to dry emboss a piece of the Smoke cardstock that was cut just a little larger than the card front.   The embossing folder used was from Sizzix and designed by Tim Holtz Alterations.  I can’t find the name on it, but it looks like reptile skin.  I then used the Zig Cornflower Blue Marker sideways to put a few marks on the edges of this cardstock.  As well, I went around the edge of the card front.

Scrapbook E-Z Runner Adhesive was used to put the card together on a card base.  While doing so, Tim Holtz Jute String was wrapped around the blue violet cardstock and tied.  This was held to the paper under the knot with Small Zot Dots Adhesive.

2 watermarked

I didn’t have the sentiment stamp that said what I wanted to say, so I printed “so happy you’re my” with my computer printer on a 40# Vellum sheet.  This was trimmed down to size with my paper trimmer.  I used Tombow Mono Adhesive just a little on each end of the sentiment.  I didn’t want the adhesive to show through the vellum.

To make the word “Brother,” I used my Cricut Create Cutting Machine with the Cricut Cartridge, Cursive 101 and the Smoke cardstock.  The word didn’t turn how perfectly, but it was late and I needed to get the card in the mail, so I glued it on the front of the card with liquid glue.  In the process, a little of the Zig Marker smeared onto the first letter.  So after gluing on all of the letters, I went over them with a Black Glaze Pen.  This dried almost instantly, so I was good to go.  I didn’t know if the black letters got lost in the image, so I made some white lines with Uni-ball Signo White Gel Pen.

This is not my favorite card, but it will do.  Besides, I didn’t have time to make another card and get it in the mail before my brother’s birthday.  Coloring the image reminded me of adult coloring books that have all of those teeny tiny spaces to color.  I am not a fan, so I don’t color in them.  However, I DID enjoy coloring the spaces inside this image. Maybe I enjoyed it because I knew I was going to do something with the image after I colored it.  Starting in the center, I worked my way out.  It was a small challenge to keep the pattern going with the same colors while going out.  What about you?  Do you enjoy coloring small spaces in adult coloring books?

Until late, I am,

Tricia Ann 

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Anything Goes  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge #288-#289 – Anything Goes  http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/

FLCKLV#19

 

One thought on “For My Brother

Leave a Reply

