Holiday Florals

Hey,

Here I am with another Christmas card (in July!!!).  Christmas in July is one of my favorite things.  For years when I taught school, every summer I would watch old Christmas movies while it was scorching hot outside (Florida).  One year, we moved across town after school was out for the summer.  I started shopping at a quaint little house turned into a shop called Precious Moments.  The proprietor sold handcrafted home goods.  I was in that shop a lot that summer as I decorated our new place.  One of my fond memories of a visit to the shop was when the shop lady had Christmas in July.  She had homemade refreshments of fudge, cookies, various breads such as pumpkin loaf and banana bread, hot apple cider and cocoa.  It was so much fun hanging out that day, talking with others, enjoying the Christmassy treats, browsing the store, and Christmas shopping.   

The main focus on my card today is a background stamp from Hero Arts called Holiday Florals Bold Print.  The stamp turns out so beautiful embossed in gold embossing powder from Recollections.

Watermarked

Click on the stamp photo to link.  1_354645_FS

IMPORTANT NOTE Heat the gold embossing powder with the heat gun underneath the cardstock so the glittery powder is not blown off the paper.

Stamp the large background stamp  with a VersMark Sticky Stamp Pad in the MISTI Stamping Tool to do repeat stamping for hard to cover large surfaces.  Use a heat gun to melt the gold embossing powder.  A Lawn Fawn Large Stitched Oval Die was cut out in the Cuttlebug Embossing and Die Cutting Machine.  80# Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock was used.  

Bazzill Peppermint Cardstock was cut out using a Lawn Fawn Stitched Oval, the largest oval in the set.  A small stamp from Tim Holtz was stamped around the edges in the MISTI with VersaMark, then embossed with the gold embossing powder.  The heat gun was used again to melt the powder.  A better choice of stamp would have been a background stamp, but I don’t have one that suited me for this project.

 

IMG_9527

Zig Clean Color Real Brush Markers were used to color the florals.

 

The stamp and die used for the greeting are no longer available.  They are from My Favorite Things.  Stamp with whatever you have on hand that can be cut out or die cut to adhere to the front of the card.

The back panel of the card was embossed with a Sizzex Embossing Folder.  I don’t know the name of the folder but the florals are poinsettias.  The gold cardstock is sold in 12 x 12 inch sheets at Michael’s.  The Cuttlebug was used for this card layer too.

So here’s my masterpiece.  The piece of cardstock the finished card is laying on is Neenah Solar White but it looks blue in the photo taken at dusk.

I want to do this card again with a couple of changes.  I want to change the stamp used on the red oval for the background.  And I want to change the gold background panel to white.  How about you?  Do you keep the first card you made, but do the over to see if it can be better next time? 

The card below that inspired me to do this creation is one I had saved in my photos from a website.  I don’t know anything about it other than it has a watermark on it that says perkspennypapers.com.  So thanks goes out to whoever made this inspiring card.  I love your work!

14725727-10154558098348847-5656543567312701336-n

That’s all, folks!  Thank you for reading my blog.

Trish

Leave a Reply

