The Snow is Glistening

Hi,

Have you made any holiday cards yet?  I don’t want to be in the same situation that I am usually in every Christmas.  However, the problem I can see with having my cards done early is that I think of someone else I should send a card, so I make another, then think of someone else, and so it goes.  Anyway, I’m trying to be wise and be prepared as the ant who stored up food for the winter.  The silly grasshopper played and “fiddled” around and didn’t get ready for winter.  The grasshopper was in a fix in the middle of winter with no food and no warm place to stay.   This story is an Aesop Fable entitled, “The Ant and the Grasshopper.”

I love the way the colors combined on this card background.  When I looked for a printed paper to go with it, the Doodlebug paper pack from my stack was perfect.

A IMG_9927 watermarked

CARDBASE:  

  • 110# Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock, cut to 5.5 x 8.5 and folded in half to make an A2 card (4.25 x 5.5 inches) 

 

EMBOSSED SNOWFLAKE PANEL:

NOTICE:  Stamp and emboss the watercolor paper before inking.

  • 90# Canson Watercolor Paper, trimmed to 4.25 x 5.5 inches
  • Hero Arts Hand-drawn Snowflakes Bold Prints Background Stamp (LOVE!)
  • VersaMark Sticky Clear Ink Pad
  • MISTI Stamping Tool
  • Hero Arts White Embossing Powder (LOVE!)
  • heat gun

Next apply the ink colors here and there with the mini-blenders.

  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads in Mermaid Lagoon, Cracked Pistachio, Wilted Violet and Blueprint Sketch
  • Ranger Mini-Blenders

Wipe off the card panel with a cloth to remove any ink residue on the white snowflakes.

  • Lawn Fawn Large Stitched Frame DieUse this to trace a curved line on the embossed snowflake panel.
  • White Colored PencilMark the tracing line with this.
  • ScissorsTrim the right side of the embossed snowflake panel, following the line drawn with the white pencil. 

Go around the edges of the front panel with the Wilted Violet ink using the mini-blender.

NOTICE:  Save the piece of panel that you cut off to adhere to the inside of the card.

BACKGROUND:

  • Doodlebug 6 x 6 inch Paper Pad, Polar Pals, trimmed to 4.25 x 5.5 inches

 

ATTACH THE LAYERS:

  • Scrapbook E-Z Runner Permanent Adhesive Tape

Along with preparing the front of your card, adhere the trimmed-off piece of the panel to the inside of the card on the right-hand side.  In the small spaces, use Ranger Multi Medium Matte Glue to stick the points down well. 

Go around the card front edges with the Wilted Violet ink using the mini-blender.

B IMG_9932 watermarked

SENTIMENT

Again, stamp and heat emboss before applying the ink colors.

  • 90# Canson Watercolor Paper
  • Mama Elephant Winter Wonderland Stamps
  • VersaMark Sticky Clear Ink Pad
  • MISTI Stamping Tool
  • Hero Arts White Embossing Powder
  • heat gun
  • trimmer Cut the banner the size you want.
  • Scotch Mounting Tape Use this to adhere the banner to the card front.  This gives dimension.

 

THE END

  • Pretty Pink Posh Clear Droplets, 4mm and 6mm
  • Ranger Multi Medium Matte GlueGlue droplets to card front in the center of the snowflakes

I had a difficult time photographing this card.  I can’t even tell you how many pictures I took.  I wish you could see how sparkly the Hero Arts White Embossing Powder is on these snowflakes.  The photos do not do the embossing powder justice.  In the photo, the embossed areas look yellowed, but in reality they are very white.

IMG_9981

Also, I wanted a little more sparkle on my Clear Droplets, so I got out my Stickles Glue in Star Dust to add some glitter to them.  Yes, that’s it!  That works.

I loved making this card and I love snow.  HOWEVER!  I’m not looking forward to the cold weather which will show its brrry head in about 6 weeks where we live.  At least we have HOT, HOT August!

Enjoying it while I can,

Trish

CHALLENGE ENTERED

Word Art Wednesday Anything Goes Challenge #294-#295  http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

