Just Three Candles

IMG_0224

Hello,

Does this card look familiar?  After I made my Colorful Candles card, I liked the way it turned out so much that I decided to make the card again with some changes for our great-nephew who was turning three-years-old.  Below is the first card I made.  The photography is better because I took the photograph outside.  When I made the card with only three candles, it was raining outside, so I had to take the photo under white lights inside.  I wasn’t happy with the light, but what can you do?  I couldn’t wait to take the picture another day because I needed to get it in the mail.  If you click on the next picture, it will link you to the post where I give a complete tutorial of how the following card came together.

Colorful Candles

 

Now to point out how the two cards are alike and different.

  • The cardstock for the base cards and the embossed panels are the same paper and measurements for both.  Please get the measurements by clicking on the Colorful Candles card.
  • For the child’s card, I embossed it with Sizzix Textured Impression Embossing Folder, Swirls.
  • The same ink was used on the child’s card.
  • The child’s three candles were covered with Glossy Accents to draw attention.  I did not put gems on the flames since some small children pick things off paper and put them in their ears, noses or mouths.
  • The banner was laid flat on the child’s card so it would not be tempting to pull it off.
  • I thought it would be tempting to pull the shiny star stickers off too, so instead I glued on paper confetti.  The confetti pieces are scraps I saved when I punched them out after using the Spellbinder’s Fancy Lattice Die (linked below).

Technique Tuesday Many Candles Die Set is a winner.  Whether you have this set, another set of candle dies, or even candle stamps that you can fussy cut with scissors, you should give this card layout a try.  I know I will be making more of these charming candle cards.  

Thanks for stopping,

Tricia Ann

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Happy Birthday  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge For a Child http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Anything Goes Challenge #294-#295  http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/

Paper Sweeties
<a href=”https://papersweeties.com/category/blog/&#8221; rel=”nofollow”>papersweeties.com/category/blog/</a>
<a href=”https://www.linkytools.com/wordpress_list.aspx?id=280610&type=thumbnail&#8221; rel=”nofollow”>www.linkytools.com/wordpress_list.aspx?id=280610&type…</a>

 

 

 

LINKS

1_370541_FS              swirl embossing folder               glossy accents

Spellbinders Fancy Lattice Die

 

2 thoughts on “Just Three Candles

  1. quilterlin says:

    The embossed backgrounds really take these designs a step farther, Trish! Love both your birthday cards! Thanks for sharing them with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

