Gone to the Beach

It looks as if I’ve gone beach crazy!  Well, I DO love Flordia where we lived for 25 years, and I miss it very much.  But my craziness has been the Nautical Challenge at Simon Says Stamp.  Here’s my final card for the challenge.  Kassidy reminded me that I HAD to make a Christmas card this week, because I am so far behind on my New Year’s goal of making one card a week until Christmas.  I told her that I have to do a nautical card for the SSS challenge.  She said, “Then make it a Christmas card.”  At the last minute rush, I almost forgot.  

IMG_0842second one watermarked

I took photos along the way, so hopefully there will be less reading and more viewing.

  • Prima Marketing, Inc Paintables Watercolor Paper 6 x 6 inch pad, trimmed to 4.0 x 5.25 inches 
  • craft sheet (work surface)
  • Bubble Gum Faber-Castell Gelato
  • Cotton Candy Faber-Castell Gelato
  • Pistachio Faber-Castell Gelato
  • baby wipe

 Air dry or use a heat gun.  Wipe the surface all over with a baby wipe.  Reapply the Gelatos where you want more intense color.

This next step can be skipped if you like a smooth look to the surface.  I wanted a blotched look, so I did this.

Spritz the surface lightly with water.  After a few seconds, lay a clean rag or paper towel on top to pick up some color.  My rag is stained, not dirty.

IMG_0790

Dry the surface, then go around the perimeter with Chocolate Faber-Castell Gelato.

  • MISTI Stamping Tool or acrylic block
  • Versafine Black Ink
  • 110# Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock
  • Inkadinkado Warmest Wishes Stamp Set – Santa’s chair and sand dollar shell

I am learning to color with colored pencils.

  • Prismacolor Colored Pencils (These are not watercolor pencils).
  • Prismacolor Colorless Blender Pencil

I am also trying to learn how to do shading.  The second pencil you see below is the Colorless Blender Pencil.

I didn’t like the amount of black pencil I put on the white areas of the hat to show shading.  So I used the Tombow Mono Sand Eraser to get rid of some of the shading.

Fussy cut the chair with scissors, then go around the edges with a Memento Black Marker.

Stamp the sentiment and shells.

  • stamping tool
  • Versafine Ink
  • 100# Simon Says Stamp Cardstock, Ivory
  • Newton’s Nook Designs Sun Soaked Christmas Stamp Set, sentiment and oyster shells

 

  • Cuttlebug Embossing and Die Cutting Machine
  • Lawn Fawn Stitched Oval Dies
  • Scotch Adhesive Dot Runner
  • paper trimmer
  • Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape
  • ruler to get the banner evenly spaced
  • scissors to trim the end of the banner

Attach the chair picture and a cord to the front.  Tie two pieces of cord together in a knot.  Wrap the ends to the back and secure with pieces of tape.  I saved the cord from something, I don’t remember what.

Cut cardstock for a card base.  This is a top-folding card A2 card that is 4.25 x 5.5 inches.  Score the cardstock down the middle.  Leave the cardstock in the corner of the score board while you fold it over and press down on the fold.

  • 100# Simon Says Stamp Cardstock, Ivory – cut to 4.25 x 11 inches
  • paper trimmer
  • Martha Stewart Score Board with Bone Folder

Excuse the Gelato marks on the back of my card front panel.  It goes with the territory.  IMG_0835 Tape the card front to the card base with Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Runner Tape.  Glue the shells to the card front with Ranger Multi Medium Matt Glue.  

IMG_0837 Watermarked(2017-08-21-1039)

There’s another one down.  I have many more Christmas cards to go!  Kassidy will need to keep prompting me to get the move on.  Ha!

Bye, bye!

Trish

CHALLENGES LINKED

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Nautical  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Add a Sentiment http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge #296-#297 – Anything Goes  http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/

Paper Sweeties Happy Birthday and/or Colors Challenge
< a href=”https://papersweeties.com/category/blog/&#8221; rel=”nofollow”>papersweeties.com/category/blog/</a>
< a href=”https://www.linkytools.com/wordpress_list.aspx?id=280610&type=thumbnail&#8221; rel=”nofollow”>www.linkytools.com/wordpress_list.aspx?id=280610&type…</a>

3 thoughts on “Gone to the Beach

  1. inkyfingersandribbon says:

    I LOVE this, it made me smile so much, so creative.
    Many thanks for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge x

    Like

  2. shabbygirl says:

    WOW … WOW … WOW!!! This card is absolutely amazing! The step-out tutorial is fantastic! I love the technique you shared using the gelatos over heat embossing! Just fabulous – thanks for sharing this beautiful card with us at Paper Sweeties!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

