Twinkle

 

Hello,

I’m back with another card with stars.  My intention for this card was for Christmas, but after completing it, I think it could be used for a birthday or congratulations as well.  Again, no time for detailed instructions, but I will give you a list of materials used.  Since so much went into the background, I didn’t want to cover up too much of it.  So I chose to use an open star and a die cut word.

IMG_1525

IMG_1524

  • 110# Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock for the card base – 5.5 x 8.5 inches, folded in half making a 4.25 x 5.5 inch A2 size card
  • watercolor paper
  • Kuretake Pearl Colors Watercolor Set
  • 8″ round watercolor brush
  • cup of water
  • rag
  • heat gun – Dry watercolor paper between applications.

At first I spritzed water on the watercolors and laid a rag on top to pick up the sprinkles.  But because these are pearlized colors, the lift left the paper looking too washed out, and I wanted vivid colors.  Later I re-applied the watercolors. 

  • Tim Holtz Black Soot Paint
  • wide, flat watercolor brush
  • heat gun

After the black paint was dry, I swiped the pearlized white watercolor over the black brush strokes.  Then I reapplied the pastel pearl watercolors and dried the paper.

  • Simon Says Stamp Falling Stars Stencil
  • Ranger Texture Paste with Nuvo Silver Moondust Glitter Drops mixed in (In hindsight, I wish I had used Nuvo White Blizzard Glitter Drops mixed in instead).

Let this air dry.

  • Simon Says Stamp Holiday Borders (strip of stars)
  • VersaFine Tuxedo Black Ink Pad

Stamp three short strips from the edge.

  • My Favorite Things Polka Dot Background
  • Hero Arts White Pigment Ink

Stamp mostly on the black strips.  Dry

Trim watercolor paper down to 3.75 X 5.0 inches.

  • Beadalon Silver Polyester Thread for bows
  • Zots Clear Adhesive Dots, Small
  • Provocraft Cuttlebug Die Cut and Emboss Machine
  • Simon Says Stamp Sketched Star Die
  • Simon Says Stamp Large Holiday Dies, Stars
  • Tim Holtz Holiday Words Die Set
  • DCWV The Cardstock Stack 6 x 6 inch Paper Pad, Glitzy Glitter – Cut one each.
  • 110# Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock – Cut 2.
  • Ranger Multi Medium Matt Glue

I glued the first white stars to the card front.  Then stacked the stars, gluing them together with the pink glitter stars on top. 

  • Nuvo White Blizzard Glitter Drops – They are difficult to see on the photo, but I put droplets in a few places in sets of 1 or 3.
  • Nuvo Crystal Drops Gloss, Ebony Black, around the edge of the watercolor paper as well as the top and bottom of the strip.
  • Ranger Star Dust Stickles – This was radiated from the large star.

The Nuvo and Stickles were left to dry on their own. 

IMG_1526

I hope you like this card.  I love the colors.  It’s interesting to see the contrast between the faded-looking pearled background and the glitzy sparkle of the embellishments.  Thanks for stopping by.  I’ll catch you next time.

Regards,

Tricia

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge It’s Written in the Stars   http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/

Word Art Wednesday Challenge #300-#301 Anything Goes  http://wordartwednesday.blogspot.com/

 

 

SSSWC

One thought on “Twinkle

Leave a Reply

