Every Which Way

Hello there,

Valentine’s Day, of course, has passed, but I want to show you the last valentine I made.  I used this stamp set by Penny Black, Every Which Way.

1_34904_FS

If you have a stamp set that has the same character, like the hedgehog, in different positions, you might want to try this idea.  This card was made for my granddaughter.  For Valentine’s Day, I like to make her a unique card that catches her interest.

I used Strathmore Bristol Smooth paper since I planned to use Zig Clean Color Real Brush MarkersI needed a paper that was thin enough to fold, so watercolor paper was out.  Five pieces of Bristol paper were cut to:

  • 3.5 x 7 inches
  • 3.5 x 6 inches 
  • 3.5 x 5 inches 
  • 3.5 x 4 inches 
  • 3.5 x 7 inches

I set up my stamps like this.

IMG_0352IMG_0353

After stamping with an Versafine Onyx Black Ink Pad, I colored the images.   The Zig marker colors were scribbled onto a craft mat and given a spritz of water.  I stamped two large hedgehog images to represent us, Mimi and Poppie.  A small piece of Post It Tape was used to stamp the lady hedgehog without a wand.  The Post It tape was also used to mask off small heart bubbles in order to add more.  Poppie is blowing the bubbles.  They are in this thing together.  Mimi has a backup bottle of bubbles to keep the love going.  The small hedgehog images represent Kassidy in every which way.  I sketched the hills.  The images stamped in red on the top layer of the card are from a retired Stampin’ Up! stamp set, using Gina K Red Hot Ink Pad.  The clouds were stenciled on the papers with My Favorite Things Mini Cloud Edges and Tim Holtz Tumbled Glass Distress Ink Pad with a Ranger Mini Blender.

IMG_0359IMG_0360

The sentiment Happy Valentine’s is from an off-brand stamp set purchased at Michael’s that no longer has the packaging.

I folded the left side of each card 1/2″  (.05 inches).  I then used a craft knife to cut 1/2″ slits along the outside edges of the folds.  The layers of the card were placed in order.  A narrow red ribbon, purchase at Michael’s, was inserted in the slits and tied into a bow.  I stuck a Zots Small Clear Adhesive Dot under the center of the bow to hold it in place.

IMG_0361

Here’s how it looks after the layers are bound.Featured

IMG_0367IMG_0362IMG_0363IMG_0364IMG_0365

Looking back, the difficulty in making this card was creating it in my mind.  Once I figured out what to do, the doing was basic.  The sentiment, “We will love you always, all ways.”, delivers the meaning of the card as the little hedgehog goes along in life.  I fancy you can use the format of this card to make your own succession card.  

Happy stamping,

Tricia Ann

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Word Art Wednesday Anything Goes – Challenge #322-#323

Pammie’s Inky Pinkies Challenges PIP Challenge 1806

 

 

Leave a comment