Stenciled Texture Paste

Hey there,

I did it!  Here’s the second tag I finished today.  I actually did most of this tag before today.  I just needed to finish it.  On the back of the tag is a white background with black lines of music.  There is a sentiment that says, “Sing till there’s nothing left to sing.”  As we know, that means sing forever.  🙂 

Sing Like You Mean It Tag   Love those crazy birds!  I saw a creation that one of the Simon Says Stamp designers made, where she placed the flower on top of the bird for a hat.  This was so cute and funny to me.  Since I had the same flower stamp set, I wanted to try this myself.  I looked all through Simon’s posts for the crazy bird with the flower hat and the designer’s name, but I couldn’t find it.  If someone knows, please let me know and I will give the designer credit for the bird and flower hat idea.  Here’s the products I used in making this tag:

BACKGROUND

Using finger daubers, blend Tim Holtz Distress Ink wherever you want on a Ranger MANILA TAGS #8 Craft Inkssentials Surfaces in the following colors:

  • spicy marmalade
  • forest moss
  • barn door
  • broken china
  • worn lipstick

On top of the distress colors, I put just a bit of Heidi Swapp Metallic Black Texture Paste on a Ranger Craft Mat.   This paste comes in a tube and any excess cannot be put back in the tube, so take out a little at a time.  Post-It Tape was used to hold a Tim Holtz Flourished Stencil over the colored tag.  I then spread the paste flat over the stencil with a spatula tool.  Any left over paste was smoothed away from the stencil.  I really liked the way the black paste looked against the multi-colors behind it.  This was left to dry completely.  TIP:  The stencil, spatula and craft mat were cleaned up immediately under running water and set aside to dry.  Otherwise, the texture paste would dry on the supplies and harden.

BIRD

Stamp one of Tim Holtz’s BIRD CRAZY stamps on a piece of 110# Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock with Archival Jet Black Ink.

Color the bird with Faber-Castell Gelatos in

  • lemon
  • chocolate
  • tangerine

Use scissors to cut out the bird close to the black line.  Trace over the black lines on the bird and also on the sides with Faber-Castell PITT Artist Pen in Bold Black.  Use Copic Multiliner .25 to trace the lines around the bird’s eyes.  Then use a Uni-ball Signo White Gel Pen to go over the whites of the bird’s eyes.  When this is dry, use Glossy Accents on the eyes.  Cover the bird with Zig Clear Wink of Stella.  Let this dry.  

FLOWER  

Stamp a flower head from Tim Holtz Flower Garden Stamp Set on the same Neenah Cardstock.  Use the same Gelato colors that were used to color the bird.  Use scissors to cut out the flower head close to the black lines.  Cover the flower with Zig Clear Wink of Stella.  Let this dry.  

MUSIC  

Use the Simon Says Stamp Jingle Snowflakes Die and cut two die cuts on #110 Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock with the Cuttlebug Embossing Machine (that also cuts dies).  Use EK Success Cutter Bee Scissors to cut off the snowflakes on one die cut and to cut off three music notes on the other die cut

SENTIMENT

Using my computer, I typed the sentiment and printed it out on #110 Neenah Crest Solar White Cardstock.  I then laid the smallest Simon Says Stamp Basic Banners Die over the printed sentiment and ran it through the Cuttlebug Machine.

PULLING IT ALL TOGETHER

Using Liquitex Matte Gel Medium, everything was adhered to the tag.  An Acrylic Block was laid on top of each glued piece to hold it down until it dried.  A Prismacolor White Pencil was used to scruff around the edges of the bird and flower hat, so they wouldn’t be lost against the black texture paste.  I also put white pencil around the music notes to represent sound.  A Uni-ball Signo White Gel Pen was used to make vibrations around the music notes.  11 inches of Tim Holtz Idea-ology CRINKLE RIBBON that is 5/8 inch wide was put through the hole of the tag and tied in a bow.  This ribbon comes in a natural tone and needs to be colored.  However, I didn’t need to stain my ribbon because someone gave me this piece and it was already stained yellow.  That’s all folks! 

THE BACK OF THE CARD

Sing Like You Mean It Tag BackHere’s the back of the tag.  Because the back of the tag was smudged up some with the texture paste, I didn’t mind working on a new tag.  I traced the Ranger tag on heavy white cardstock and cut it out with a paper trimmerWhite Gesso was painted on smoothly and allowed to dry.  Next I painted it with Tim Holtz White Picket Fence Paint and again allowed it to dry.  I had a wooden stamp with musical notes on it but no name of the stamp on the side.  TIP:  I gently removed the rubber stamp from the wood block and adhered a mounting foam (link below) to the back of it, so I could use it in my MISTI (Most Incredible Stamping Tool Invented).  I had to stamp the tag several times in Versafine Black Ink to get it as dark as I wanted it.  I also had to stamp it on the top AND bottom of the tag to cover the area.  The ink took a while to dry.

The same Bird Crazy character was stamped on the bottom left of the tag with Archival Coffee Ink, as well as the same fl0wer positioned so it looks like it is holding it’s hat.  I didn’t bother to mask this.   To color the images, I used T.H. Distress Markers in Squeezed Lemonade, Mustard Seed and Spiced Marmalade.  A finger dauber was used to lightly spread some tint around the images.

I then used a Tim Holtz Black Soot Ink Pad and a finger dauber to distress the tag on the edges and lightly over the tag.

Using 80# Neenah Solar White Cardstock and a Ranger Blending Tool, I  spread Tim Holtz Broken China Distress Ink over the surface.  A dot stencil was laid over this and I used Tim Holtz Twisted Citron Distress Ink to stencil dots on the paper.  This was allowed to dry.  I then typed my sentiment and printed it out on the inked paper.  TIP:  I first printed out the sentiment, then inked it with Distress Ink and the typing smeared.  So I had to redo this, inking the paper, letting it dry, THEN printing out the sentiment with the computer printer.  Then using a Simon Says Stamp Banner Dies and the Cuttlebug, I die cut around the sentiment.  Taking the Black Soot Ink and finger dauber, I inked around the edges of the banner.  The banner was adhered to the tag with Liquitex Matte Gel Medium and left to dry under a large acrylic blockTIP:  I always place something heavy on the acrylic block in order to make sure the entire surface is adhered. 

While this dried, I die cut the Simon Says Stamp Jingle Snowflakes Die on #65 Recollection Black Cardstock with the Cuttlebug.  Using the Cutter Bee Scissors I cut off the snowflakes on the end of the die cut.  This also was adhered with the liquid glue.

The front of the tag and the back were adhered with Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Tape Runner, making sure the area was well-covered round the hole at the top.  After this was pressed together, I used my Crop-a-dile to punch a hole through the back.  The ribbon was run though the hole(s) and tied in a bow. 

Whew!  That is a LOT of information.  I hope you like what you see and press the LIKE BUTTON at the bottom of this page.  A COMMENT would be encouraging to receive by clicking on LEAVE A COMMENT at the top of the page under the title.  Thanks for your interest in what I love to do!

Good night,

Tricia

LINK

This is where I purchased EZ Mount Static Cling Mounting Foam to adhere to the backs of rubber stamps.    http://www.cistamps.com/

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Add Some Texture
< a href=”http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Let’s Go Wild  http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/ 

SSSMC     SSSFC     FLGC7

 

6 thoughts on “Stenciled Texture Paste

  1. desperatehousewifecraft says:

    What an amazing bright tag you have made. I love the flower on the bird and the musical chords and the stencil…in fact everything! Thanks also for the detailed explanation of your method. Really helpful! I just started following you!

    Like

  2. kath says:

    your tag is amazing…so bright and colourful and that crazy bird is just so adorable…thank you so much for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge…hugs kath xxx

    Like

  3. smouwen says:

    What a fun and bold tag, love it. The cute crazy bird with the flower hat. So adorable. Thank you so much for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. Hugs, Sandra

    Like

Leave a comment