Sunday Sample: Pumpkin Patch

Hi Stampers,

I have seen many posts from people online who love autumn as much as I do.  Having lived in Florida for twenty-five years, our family embraces autumn.  Now living in northwest Georgia, we are delighted with the changing seasons.  Paper crafting is especially enjoyable during the autumn season.  Autumn holds my favorite colors.  So much so that my house is decorated with autumn colors all year round.  To add to my joy this autumn, I am now a member of the Strawberry Jude Stamps Design Team, where I found a most marvelous pumpkin layering stamp set

jack-and-pumpkin

Strawberry Jude Stamps, Jack-O-Layers

These are high quality stamps made in the U.S.A.  I LOVE the way the layers work together.  The resulting image has depth and dimension.  Of course I adore the pumpkins in this set, but I’ve never had so much fun with leaves.  Leaves are one of my favorite things.  When we go walking, I closely examine leaves.  Each added layer of the Strawberry Jude pumpkin leaves gave a satisfying appeal after stamping. I apologize for the dull-looking white cardstock.  I had to take the photo inside, so the white came out looking off. 

2-pumpkin-patch

As you can see, I certainly enjoyed stamping these leaves.  Ha!

Basic Tools and Supplies 

I’ll give you the brand of basics that I used to make this card, but you can use what you already have on hand.  You will get similar results. 

  • Creative Memories 12″ Straight Trimmer      
  • EK Success Cutter Bee Scissors – Get precision cuts in small areas.
  • MISTI (Most Incredible Stamp Tool Invented) – If you don’t have this marvel, use Fiskars Stamp Press or an acrylic block. 
  • Small Acrylic Blocks 
  • Large Acrylic Block
  • Martha Stewart Score Board (includes Bone Folder) – If you don’t have this, just fold your paper and crease it with a ruler.
  • Cuttlebug Die-Cut & Emboss Machine Provo Craft
  • Ranger Craft Sheet
  • Craft Heat Gun – Mine is old and has no brand name on it.
  • Post-It Tape
  • Scrapbook Adhesive E-Z Runner Permanent Tape
  • Ranger Multi Medium Matte Glue liquid glue
  • Finger Daubers – for inking small areas and edges (purchased from amazon.com)
  • Small Spray Bottle of Water (Use Purified or Distilled Water as tap water may change your ink color).  You don’t need a name brand bottle.  Rinse out a small empty spray bottle that you would normally throw away.
  • Rag
  • Scrap Paper (for testing ink colors)

 

Here’s the specific items I used on this card:

  • Ranger Watercolor Paper, cut to 5 ½ x 4 ¼ inches
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad, Black Soot
  • Piece of Acrylic – Mine is cut from a piece of plastic packaging.  Use this for “ink smooshing.”

3

 

The technique I am doing here is called, “smooshing.”  Rub a little Black Soot on the acrylic piece and spray very little water on it. 

TIP:  If you mix in too much water, you will dilute the ink and get a thinned-out color. 

You want both strong color and watered-down color.  Notice how I masked off part of my paper where I don’t want splatters to go.  Pick up the acrylic piece upside down and bob it here and there on the watercolor paper.  Don’t lay it down flat.  Use the heat gun to dry the ink between colors. 

TIP:  If you don’t dry the watercolor paper before applying the next color of ink, the colors will run together and look muddy.  Use a rag to wipe the ink off the acrylic sheet before moving on to another color. 

HINT:  If you don’t want to do ink smooshing, you can make this card by using a piece of patterned paper where I have smooshed ink.  You could also use fewer leaves, or you could make three pumpkins and use fewer leaves.  

4

Next step….

Tim Holtz Distress Marker, Carved Pumpkin – I don’t own an ink pad in this color. 

TIP:  If you’re on a budget, buy the distress markers before you buy the ink pads.  

Scribble some Carved Pumpkin on the acrylic piece and spray very little water.  Pick up the acrylic piece upside down and bob it here and there where you want it on the watercolor paper.  Don’t lay it down flat.  Use the heat gun to dry the ink between colors.  Use a rag to wipe the ink off the acrylic sheet before moving on to another color. 

5

Continuing the same…

  • Tim Holtz Distress Marker, Wilted Violet – I don’t own an ink pad in this color. 

 

Repeat step above.  Remove the masking paper and lay the watercolor paper aside.  It can air dry while you stamp your images.

6

The stamps in the Strawberry Jude Jack-O-Layers Stamp Set are numbered.  Whoo! Hoo!  This makes things so much easier when stamping layers.  Take the time to pull out the green ink pads you have when stamping green leaves.   Decide what colors go together well by using a scrap piece of paper.  The ink pads I used are ordered as follows:

 

1.      Simon Says Stamp Ink Pad, Willow (the lightest color)

2.      Simon Says Stamp Ink Pad, Green Apple

3.      Simon Says Stamp Ink Pad, Green Leaf

4.      Simon Says Stamp Ink Pad, Fern (the darkest color)

7

Loving the layers here.

8

Don’t you just love it?!  Strawberry Jude pumpkin leaves are AWESOME! 

This is a picture of the leaves with the fourth layer.

9

Look how luscious these leaves are!  They look like green leaves I would want to eat for the nourishment they would give my body. 

TIP:  Do you know that being creative is healthy for you?  It reduces stress and lowers blood pressure among other things.

Cut out the leaves with scissors.  Set aside.

10

Time for ink layering the pumpkin!  Yay!!  Test your ink pad colors on a scrap piece of paper.  Choose five colors for layering.  Then practice stamping the pumpkin in layers to see if your ink colors look nice together.  Starting with the solid stamp, ink it with the lightest color, yellow.  Remember, Strawberry Jude Layering Stamps are numbered, so it is easy to know which layer to use next.  I used the MISTI stamping tool.  You can use an acrylic block or a stamp press.

11

Here I have stamped the second layer and I’m getting ready to stamp the third layer.  The ink pads I’m using, starting with the first and lightest color are:

  1. Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad, Squeezed Lemonade
  2. Hero Arts Ink Pad, Butter Bar
  3. Simon Says Stamp Ink Pad, Sunshine
  4. Simon Says Stamp Ink Pad, Orange Peel
  5. Hero Arts Ink Pad, Tangerine

TIP:  If you want to know a specific color I used, copy the complete name of the ink pad and paste it into your browser window.  That color will come up in the search.

12

Here’s how it looks after the third layer has been stamped. 

This pumpkin is certainly taking shape.

13In this photo, I stamped the pumpkin stem in layers of brown.  When adhering the leaves and pumpkin to my card, I realized that this pumpkin was still in the patch!  It couldn’t have a brown stem.  A stem that is brown means that it has been detached from its lifeline.  So I knew I had to ink the stem in hues of green.  To give contrast, I stamped the last layer brown.  I also knew that I had to attach the stem to a vine that was fed by the leaves to show that it was still living and growing.  I set the brown stem aside to use with another project and proceeded to stamp a green stem.

14

While I was stamping the green stem, I decided to make a couple more leaves in addition to some small leaves.  I appreciate these small leaves that came in handy for small areas.  The designers at Strawberry Jude Stamps had their thinking caps on.

15

In order to make a vine, I stamped out 3 green stems.  Remember – Strawberry Jude Stamps have the stamp layers numbered on the acrylic sheet to tell you which layer to use next.  I have layering stamps from other companies that were not numbered.  I had to figure out which layer goes where and number them myself.  Here’s the order of the green stem colors.  The colors are the same as the leaves, except the long stems have five layers.  I colored the last layer brown.

  1. Simon Says Stamp Ink Pad, Willow (the lightest color)
  2. Simon Says Stamp Ink Pad, Green Apple
  3. Simon Says Stamp Ink Pad, Green Leaf
  4. Simon Says Stamp Ink Pad, Fern (the darkest green color)
  5. Ranger Archival Ink Pad, Coffee

16

Go around the edge of the stems with the Coffee ink using a finger dauber.  

Use an applicator called Fantastix to go around the perimeter of the leaves with Coffee ink.  Start out with little pressure.  Add more brown if needed.

17

Using scissors cut out the three stems.  Trim down two of the stems so they can be glued with liquid glue to the main stem and curved down toward the back of the pumpkin to make it look like it is attached to the vine.  Lay an acrylic block on this to weigh down the edges while they dry.

18

  •  Go around the edges of the leaves with Simon Says Stamp Ink, Fern and a finger dauber. 
  • Then go around the edges of the leaves again with Ranger Archival Ink Pad in Coffee and a finger dauber. 
  • Go around the edges of the stem again with Ranger Archival Ink, Coffee, lightly covering the “scars” where the stem pieces are joined together.

19

·       Tim Holtz Distressed Marker, Mowed Lawn

·       Faber-Castell Outline Fine Pen, Black

Follow these steps…..

  1. With the liquid glue, glue the pumpkin leaves to the ground going in different directions. 
  2. Using the distress green marker, draw vines to connect the leaves.
  3. Draw fine black lines on the green vines on one side of the vine.
  4. Glue down the pumpkin and add a leaf to the vine.
  5. Stamp the small curly-q image 2 times ON THE WHITE COLORWATER PAPER BACKGROUND.  To add interest, while it’s not easy to do because this piece is so skinny, stamp one side of the curly-q in
  • Simon Says Stamp Fern Ink Pad and the other side in
  • Ranger Archival Coffee Ink Pad.

This image that I’m calling a curly-q is actually a tendril.  A tendril is a specialized stem with a threadlike shape that is used by climbing plants for support, attachment and twining around parasitic plants that have invaded.  Interesting, huh?  And they are SO CUTE!  I’m glad this piece was included in the Jack-O-Layers set.

20

21
Hurray!  I’m finished, and I have a card I am pleased with to give to a friend.  I look at lots of craft shopping websites and crafter’s blogs, and have participated in many blog hops.  These are the coolest pumpkin and jack-o-lantern stamps I’ve seen.  They will always hold a special meaning for me, because they led me to Strawberry Jude!  These pumpkins would be so pretty to stamp and use for other crafts, too.  Can you see beautiful pumpkins like this one attached to paper rings holding your napkins at your Thanksgiving table this year?  The jack-o-lanterns would look so festive at a Halloween party for decorating or treat bags.  Just the thoughts make me want to KEEP ON STAMPING!!

 Stamping for joy,

Tricia

CHALLENGES ENTERED

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Autumn http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Thinking of You http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/ Show history

 LINKS

My Second Post as a Strawberry Jude Stamp Design Team Member:  http://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/single-post/2016/09/30/Pumpkin-Patch

Strawberry Jude Stamps – Shop and Blog:  http://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/

Purchase this set of Jack-O-Layers Stamps:  http://www.strawberryjudestamps.com/product-page/e15a88f5-6d75-ad4b-3c3c-9719ba8e59bf

One thought on “Sunday Sample: Pumpkin Patch

Leave a Reply

